Differences Between NCAA Divisions I-A, I-AA and I-AAA

Untitled Document

The Differences Between Division I-A, I-AA and I-AAA Athletic Programs

There are 325 NCAA Division I institutions divided into three subdivisions:

Division I-A:
(117 member institutions) - new membership requirements start 8/1/04

* Must sponsor 16 varsity sports for men and women.
* Must play at least five home games against other I-A opponents.
* Must average annually at least 15,000 in actual attendance for all home games.
* Must provide an average of 90% of the permissible maximum number of football grants per year (85) over a rolling two year period
* There is an annual limit of 85 student-athletes who can receive athletic aid.
* Must offer a minimum of 200 athletic grants or expend at least $4 million on grants to all student-athletes.
* Permitted to hire ten full-time coaches and two graduate assistant coaches.

Division I-AA:
(123 member institutions) - a cost containment football classification

* Can sponsor two fewer (14) varsity sports for men and women.
* Can offer no athletic aid in football or up to 63 full grants.
* Athletic aid in football (maximum of 63 full grants) can be awarded in varying amounts to 85 student-athletes annually.
* Limited to seven full-time coaches and four "restricted" coaches.

Division I-AAA:
(85 member institutions) - includes the Big West Conference

* 85 institutions that do not sponsor football at the intercollegiate level.
* Athletics programs are focused on the sport of basketball.
* 41 of the 85 Division I-AAA institutions are small private colleges or universities.

The nine UC's are currently organized as follows:
Division I-A (Must sponsor 16 varsity sports; Must fund 85 football grants )

UC Berkeley

Division I-AAA (Must sponsor 14 varsity sports; No football program)
UC Santa Barbara
UC Irvine
UC Riverside

Division II (Must sponsor 10 varsity sports; Maximum of 36 football grants)
UC Davis
UC San Diego

Division III (No athletic aid awarded)
UC Santa Cruz

No athletics
UC San Francisco

None of the UC campuses currently compete at the NCAA Division I-AA level like Sacramento State, Cal Poly SLO, St Mary's or members of the Big Sky Conference.