UC Davis Announces 2009 Hall of Fame Inductees

March 16, 2009

DAVIS, Calif. - Five former UC Davis student-athletes and a former coach have been selected for induction into the Cal Aggie Athletics Hall of Fame, it was announced by Director of Athletics Greg Warzecka. They will be formally honored during induction ceremonies on Saturday, June 6 at Freeborn Hall.

The Hall of Fame honors those who have achieved or contributed to UC Davis intercollegiate athletics with unusual distinction. The inductees are chosen by the CAAHOF Advisory Board and approved by Chancellor Larry Vanderhoef.

Alphabetically, the 2009 induction class comprises the following six individuals:

SUSAN CHURCHWELL is perhaps best known for helping lead the UC Davis softball to the 2003 NCAA title, an achievement for which she was named to the NCAA Division II Softball 25th Anniversary Team three years later. The left-handed pitcher and designated player earned three All-America awards, three All-West Region nods and four all-conference certificates in her career, finishing among the school's all-time leaders in most offensive and pitching categories. Churchwell was equally accomplished in the classroom, capturing two CoSIDA Academic All-America honors plus the 2002 W.P. Lindley Award as the university's top scholar-athlete. As a senior, she was honored as a finalist (top 10) for the NCAA Woman of the Year Award.

MATT DAVIE earned a total of 17 All-America awards for the Aggie swimming and diving team from 2000 to 2003. At his career's end, he held school records in the 500- and 1,000-yard freestyle events, while ranking in the program's all-time top 10 in the 200 free, 1650 free, 100 and 200 backstroke events, plus the 400 individual medley. Davie's scholastic achievements are equally notable: he was the co-winner of the 2003 W.P. Lindley Award, a three-time CoSIDA Academic All-American, and a recipient of the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Award.

KAMEELAH ELARMS is a 12-time All-American in both indoor and outdoor track and field from 1998 to 2001. She arrived at UC Davis as a sprinter, setting the school's 26-year-old 400-meter dash record in her sophomore year; then made the transition to the 400 hurdles, an event in which she won two California Collegiate Athletic Association titles and set another Aggie standard. Elarms' dedication in the classroom also helped her win the 2001 W.P. Lindley Award, then enabled her to advance as a finalist for both the NCAA Woman of the Year and NCAA Today's Top VIII awards.

TROY LARKIN, one of Aggie football's first 300-pound offensive linemen, earned first-team All-America honors from three different organizations as a senior. He also earned All-West Region from the country's sports information directors in 1999, became the program's first two-time winner of the Outstanding Lineman award since Dave Clerici achieved the feat almost 40 years prior, and was selected to the Snow Bowl Division II Senior All-Star Game. Perhaps most notable of his accomplishments, Larkin started all 51 games in his four-year career from 1996 to 1999, including a total of nine NCAA postseason contests.

CYNTHIA RAIL garnered first-team All-West Region and All-CCAA accolades for three straight seasons, helping the UC Davis women's soccer team advance to the NCAA quarterfinals as a senior in 2002. She stands as the most prolific offensive player in program history, holding nearly every game, season and career record for goals, assists and points. Off the field, she captured two CoSIDA Academic All-District honors and an NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Award, was co-winner (with Davie) of the 2003 W.P. Lindley Award, and won the campus-wide Mary Regan Meyer Prize for academics and community service.

PHIL SWIMLEY succeeded Bill Lakie as head Aggie baseball coach in 1966 and held that title until his retirement in 2002. In that 36-year tenure (he took a sabbatical in 1977), Swimley won more than 900 games while leading UC Davis eight conference championships and six NCAA postseason appearances. In 1995, he guided the Aggies to its first appearance at the College World Series, where the team sported a fifth-place finish. In his career, Swimley mentored 16 All-Americans, 18 Major League Baseball draftees or signees, and nine members of the CAAHOF.

Additionally, JACALYN BOX will be honored with the Hall of Fame's Special Recognition Award, which honors contributions to UC Davis athletics in a volunteer capacity. Box has served as the official timer at Aggie home basketball games for nearly two decades.

The induction ceremonies will also feature the annual student-athlete awards, namely the Colby E. "Babe" Slater Award for the outstanding male athlete of the year, the Hubert Heitman Award for the top female athlete of the year, the W.P. Lindley Award for scholar-athlete of the year, and the Lysle Leach and Marya Welch team GPA awards. Tickets for the CAAHOF Induction Ceremonies & Student-Athlete Awards Banquet can be obtained by contacting Ashley Pierce in Athletics Development at (530) 754-7548.