UC Davis To Induct Six Into Cal Aggie Athletic Hall Of Fame

March 17, 2005

DAVIS, Calif. - Five former UC Davis student-athletes and a former coach have been selected for induction into the Cal Aggie Athletic Hall of Fame, it was announced today by Director of Athletics Greg Warzecka. The honorees will be formally inducted into the Hall of Fame in ceremonies on June 4 at Freeborn Hall.

The Hall honors those who achieved or contributed to UC Davis intercollegiate athletics with unusual distinction. Alphabetically, the 2005 induction class includes the following five individual participants:

KEVIN DAFT, a two-time All-America quarterback in 1997 and 1998 who led the Aggies to back-to-back NCAA Division II semifinal appearances, was a finalist for the Harlon Hill trophy and left UC Davis holding career records for attempts, completions, yards and touchdowns.

STEFANIE HANF, an All-American heptathlete and two-time team MVP, who set school outdoor records for the triple jump and heptathlon and led UC Davis to a 10th-place finish at the 1995 NCAA Division II Track & Field Championships.

ROBYN KAMISHER, who in 1998 became the first Aggie shortstop to earn All-America honors, was a two-time captain and Hubert Heitman Award winner which recognizes the female athlete of the year. Kamisher finished her career among the all-time leaders in several offensive categories.

TADASHI KANEKO, a 12-time All-American swimmer from 1997 to 1999 who captured the 1998 100 backstroke national title and earned seven Pacific Collegiate Swimming Conference titles while finishing his career in the top 10 in six different events.

TARA MONTGOMERY, a two-year diver who captured the 1996 NCAA Division II national title on the 1-meter board and was named the 1996 Diver of the Year at the NCAA D-II Championships, then finished her Aggie career in 1997 as the top vaulter on the Aggie gymnastics team.

Former women's basketball coach JORJA HOEHN was selected as a non-participant inductee. Currently the director of development at UC Davis' King Law School, Hoehn guided the Aggies to a 205-51 record in her nine seasons, including eight trips to the postseason. She won more than 20 games in eight times, including back-to-back seasons of 25-or-more wins in 1991 & 1992 and then again in 1995 & 1996.

According to its selection criteria, the CAAHOF honors former student-athletes who earned "outstanding achievement" and "unusual distinction" in intercollegiate athletics. The non-participant category bestows Hall of Fame induction upon coaches, administrators and support staff members who "contributed significantly and with equal distinction" to the athletics department.

The June 4 ceremonies will also feature the 2004-05 student-athlete awards, comprising the Colby E. "Babe" Slater Award for outstanding male athlete of the year, the Hubert Heitman Award for female athlete of the year, the W.P. Lindley Award for scholar-athlete of the year, and the Lysle Leach and Marya Welch team GPA awards.

Tickets for the CAAHOF Induction Ceremonies & Student-Athlete Awards Banquet can be obtained from Carol Kelly in Athletics (530-752-4557).