2003 Cal Aggie Athletic Hall Of Fame Class Announced

March 20, 2003

DAVIS, Calif. - Four former UC Davis student-athletes and a former coach have been selected for induction into the Cal Aggie Athletic Hall of Fame and will be honored in ceremonies on June 7 at Freeborn Hall.

The Hall honors those who achieved or contributed to UC Davis intercollegiate athletics with unusual distinction.

Additionally, one individual will receive the Special Recognition Award, given to those who have contributed to UC Davis athletics in a volunteer capacity.

The Hall of Fame honorees are:

John "Skip" Edgemond, a distance swimmer who earned eight All-America awards in his two-year career, including the 500- and 1,650-yard freestyle titles at the 1984 NCAA Championships;

Jennifer Gross, a three-time All-West Region and GTE/CoSIDA Academic All-District selection, who in 1997 led the Aggies to their first-ever appearance in the NCAA Elite Eight Tournament;

Heather L. Hunter, the only catcher in Aggie softball history to capture All-America honors, who helped lead her teams to third-place finishes at the NCAA Championships in 1993 and 1996; and

Jenn Thatcher O'Reilly, a distance runner who captured four All-America awards in track and field and two in cross country during her career from 1985 to 1988.

Legendary cross country coach DR. BILL ADAMS was selected as a non-participant inductee. Currently a professor emeritus in the UC Davis Department of Exercise Science, Adams guided the men's cross country program to the NCAA Championships nine times during his 13-year tenure as head coach.

Longtime booster Janet Henderson will receive the Special Recognition Award, bestowed in appreciation to volunteers to the athletic program. Henderson has been a member of Team Aggie for the past four years and is a fixture at many home Aggie athletic events.

Ceremonies will also include the presentation of several student-athlete awards.