Five To Be Inducted Into Cal Aggie Athletic Hall Of Fame

March 29, 2006

DAVIS, Calif. - Five former student-athletes have been selected for induction into the Cal Aggie Athletic Hall of Fame, it was announced by Director of Athletics Greg Warzecka, and will be formally honored during induction ceremonies on June 3 at Freeborn Hall.

The Hall honors those who achieved or contributed to UC Davis intercollegiate athletics with unusual distinction. Additionally, TeamAggie volunteer Steve Loomis will receive the Special Recognition Award for service in a volunteer capacity.

Alphabetically, the 2006 induction class includes the following five individual participants:

HELEN (NAZAR) BISHOP, a two-time tennis All-American, four-time conference player of the year and four-time conference champion. She was the Aggies' No. 1 singles player throughout her career and was the 1984 winner of the school's Hubert Heitman Award as outstanding female athlete.

JAMILA DEMBY, a seven-time track and field All-American who is best remembered as UC Davis' first recipient of the prestigious NCAA Woman of the Year Award. She owns the second-best mark on the school's outdoor 800-meter list (2:09.24) and won at least one All-America honor each season of competition.

ANGELO RIVERS, a four-year starter at point guard from 1982-86 for former men's basketball coach Bob Hamilton. Rivers still holds the Aggies' career mark with 467 assists and posted a then-school record 180 career steals. He was selected to the National Association of Basketball Coaches All-West Region second team as a senior.

CHERYL SIDEL, one of the most decorated gymnasts in the early 1990's who earned 10 U.S. Gymnastics Federation All-America awards from 1991-94. She is also one of just three UC Davis gymnasts to capture at least one All-America honor in each of her four years, highlighting her career with a USGF championship on the balance beam in 1992.

WES TERRELL, an All-American tight end for UC Davis who caught 125 passes for 1,715 yards and 12 touchdowns between 1995-98. Terrell was selected first-team All-American by the American Football Coaches Association as a junior and senior, the only Aggie in program history to earn the distinction in two different seasons.

Steve Loomis, who will be presented the Special Recognition Award, has been a tireless volunteer for UC Davis Athletics through his dedicated service in TeamAGGIE and currently serves as an ambassador for the booster group. He is also a former member of the organization's board of directors.

The June 3 ceremonies will also feature the 2005-06 student-athlete awards, comprising the Colby E. "Babe" Slater Award for outstanding male athlete of the year, the Hubert Heitman Award for female athlete of the year, the W.P. Lindley Award for scholar-athlete of the year, and the Lysle Leach and Marya Welch team GPA awards.

Tickets for the CAAHOF Induction Ceremonies & Student-Athlete Awards Banquet can be obtained from Amie Smith in Athletics (530-752-4557).