UC Davis To Induct Seven Into Hall of Fame

April 1, 2004

DAVIS, Calif. - Six former student-athletes and a coach have been selected for the 2004 induction class to the Cal Aggie Athletic Hall of Fame, it was announced Thursday by Director of Athletics Greg Warzecka. The honorees will be formally inducted into the Hall of Fame in ceremonies on June 5.

Furthermore, Julius "Skip" and Janet Harrison will receive the CAAHOF Special Recognition Award for distinguished achievement in a volunteer capacity.

Alphabetically, the 2004 induction class includes the following six individual participants:

ROBERT DILTS, a track and field thrower who captured back-to-back All-America awards in the hammer throw, including the 1995 national title; and who established the school record in that event at 215 feet, four inches;

DAVID NIX, a two-time All-American in baseball who batted .401 as a junior in 1995, helping lead UC Davis to its first-ever appearance in the NCAA Division II College World Series;

TRISHA REINHARDT, a 1997 All-American and three-time All-West Region honoree who continues to hold Aggie softball career records for batting, runs scored, home runs, runs batted in, total bases, slugging average and bases on balls;

JOHN SHEEHAN, a distance runner who posted consecutive All-America finishes at the 1972 and 1973 cross country national meet; and whose converted 10,000-meter time of 30:04.24 stood as a UC Davis record for a quarter-century;

GENA WEBER, a diminutive but dominating right-handed pitcher who captured first-team All-America honors three times and Honda Division II Player of the Year honors twice; and who still holds Aggie career marks for victories, earned-run average, total strikeouts, strikeout average and winning percentage;

and TOM WILLIAMS, an All-Far Western Conference defensive lineman who became the first Aggie to be drafted by - and to play for - the National Football League, when he was selected in the second round by the San Diego Chargers in 1971.

Additionally, WILLARD S. "Will" LOTTER will enter the Hall of Fame as a non-participant. Lotter, previously a Special Recognition honoree for his efforts on the Aggie soccer field, served at different times as a head coach for tennis, soccer, football, track and field, baseball and cross country. He also was the Dean of Students during the 1950s.

Longtime coach Will Lotter, who in 1996 earned CAAHOF Special Recognition for his volunteer efforts on the soccer stadium, will be inducted as a non-participant. Lotter served as head coach for numerous sports, achieving his greatest success at the helm of the Aggie men's tennis and soccer programs.

Although Lotter mentored the football team to conference titles in 1956 and 1963, the majority of his success as a coach came in tennis and soccer. After taking over the tennis program in 1968, he guided the team to its first-ever NCAA appearance - and the first of eight national postseason berths in his 10 years at the helm. Lotter also served as the first full-time head coach for UC Davis men's soccer, a post he held from 1972 until his retirement in 1987.

The Harrisons have remained a part of the Aggie athletics program since the mid-1980s, when their daughter Kim starred for the women's basketball team. Both Skip and Janet are active with the booster club, TeamAggie, while Skip has served as an official scorer at UC Davis basketball games for almost two decades.

According to its selection criteria, the CAAHOF honors former student-athletes who earned "outstanding achievement" and "unusual distinction" in intercollegiate athletics. The non-participant category bestows Hall of Fame induction upon coaches, administrators or support staff members who "contributed significantly and with equal distinction" to the athletics department.

The June 5 ceremonies will also feature the 2003-04 student-athlete awards, comprising the Colby E. "Babe" Slater Award for outstanding male athlete of the year, the Hubert Heitman Award for female athlete of the year, the W.P. Lindley Award for scholar-athlete of the year, and the Lysle Leach and Marya Welch team GPA awards.

Tickets for the CAAHOF Induction Ceremonies & Student-Athlete Awards Banquet can be obtained from Carol Kelly in Intercollegiate Athletics (530-752-4557).