Grab, Halsted, Cheung garner year-end honors

May 20, 2016

DAVIS, Calif. - Senior distance runner Trevor Halsted, junior swimmer Hilvy Cheung and senior water polo player Sean Grab claimed the year-end UC Davis athletics awards, it was announced by the department on Friday.

Halsted, a cross country and track & field standout from nearby Davis High School, won the W.P. Lindley Award as the outstanding scholar-athlete of the year. Cheung, a butterfly specialist from Fremont, garnered the Dr. Hubert Heitman Award as the top female athlete of 2015-16. Grab, a utility and Golden West College transfer originally from South Pasadena, snared the Colby E. “Babe” Slater Award as the male athlete of the year.

All three student-athletes will be honored at the year-end Senior Recognition Luncheon, held at the UC Davis Conference Center ballroom on Sunday.

In his career, Halsted captured two Academic All-America accolades from the College Sports Information Directors of America, posted three All-Big West Conference finishes in cross country, earned back-to-back NCAA West Prelim berths, and won the 10,000-meter run at the 2016 Big West track and field championships. He ranks second in school outdoor track history in both the 5K and 10K races, while his three all-conference cross country performances matches Jonathan Peterson as another program best. In the classroom, Halsted holds a robust 3.96 grade-point average in mechanical engineering. A June 2016 graduate who ranks among the top 0.7 percent in the College of Engineering, he has been accepted to a Ph.D. program at Stanford this fall.

Cheung qualified for the NCAA Championships for the second time in her Aggie career, making the cut in both the 100- and 200-yard butterfly while helping UC Davis to its fourth Mountain Pacific Sports Federation title in six years back in February. She earned a total of seven All-MPSF honors during the 2016 conference championship meet, including defending her conference title in the 200 fly with an NCAA “B” time of one minute, 56.52 seconds. Three of her seven awards came in individual events, with first-team honors in both fly distances, while she was also a contributor on the conference champion 400 medley squad. Cheung capped her season by breaking her own school 200 fly record with a 1:56.07 in the NCAA prelims, missing a second swim and an All-America nod by just two-tenths of a second.

Grab captured Western Water Polo Association Player of the Year honors after leading UC Davis to an undefeated conference record, then followed with All-America honorable mention from the Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches. He finished second on his team in both goals (44) and assists (28), while leading the Aggies with 52 drawn exclusions and seven drawn five-meter penalties. Grab also took home two WWPA Player of the Week awards in his final season, the latter of which for helping propel UC Davis to a No. 9 national ranking – the program’s best in more than five years. The team captain finished his two-year career with 108 goals, the most by a UC Davis transfer since Mike Gotelli totaled 186 in 1996 and 1997.

The remaining finalists for the Lindley Award comprised Erika Barr (cross country/track & field), Cheung, Allyson Hansen (water polo), Neal Monson (basketball), Ana Marija Sola (soccer) and Andrea Wong (golf). Grab was one of two finalists for the Slater Award, along with Halsted. Alphabetically, the additional finalists for the Heitman Award were Barr, Cheung, Alyson Doherty (basketball), Hansen, Sola, Stephanie Stamates (gymnastics) and Wong.

Sunday’s luncheon will also recognize the recipients of the two team GPA awards. Men’s tennis captured its 10th Lysle Leach Award for the top academic male squad, while women’s tennis reclaims the Marya Welch Award as the leader among UC Davis’ female teams. The two team accolades are based on the overall composite GPAs for the spring 2015, fall 2015 and winter 2016 quarters.