UC Davis repped well on Big West honor roll

June 30, 2015 DAVIS, Calif. -
A total of 56 UC Davis student-athletes from 10 different sports earned spots on the 2014-15 Big West Academic All-Conference rolls for winter and spring sports, the league office announced Tuesday. The total matches exactly the 2013-14 numbers, and adds to the 32 honorees from the Big West fall sports.

In particular, six Aggie seniors made the conference honor roll for the maximum third year in their respective sport: Brianna Salvatore (basketball), John Williams (baseball), Trevor Ehlenbach (track & field), Katie Barber (track & field), Elsie Fullerton (water polo) and Jillian Wilding (water polo).

To be eligible for Big West All-Academic honors, student-athletes must hold a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher, complete one full year at the member institution prior to the year for which the award is bestowed, and compete in at least 50 percent of their team's contests for that year.

Women's basketball had four of the Big West's 26 total honorees. Besides the three-time recipient Salvatore, Kelsey Harris picked up her second award while Lauren Beyer and Brianne Yasukochi made their first appearances.

Among the diamond sports, baseball led the conference with seven of the 40 honorees in that sport. Raul Jacobson, Tino Lipson and Izaak Silva are repeat winners. Cameron Law, Justin Mullins and Mason Novak earned their first nods. The Aggie softball team had six of the league's 38 sport scholars. Christa Castello, Christina Guidry and Alicia Paine returned to the honor roll for a second year while Dana Cruse, Amy Nunez and Katie Robertson picked up their first such awards.

From the links, the conference-champion women's golf team also got it done in the classroom: Blair Lewis and Andrew Wong earned their second awards, Beverly Vatananugulkit claimed her first. On the men's side, Mike Brockington earned his second straight nod as the lone Aggie from his program. A total of 19 players in each of women's and men's golf made the list from around the Big West.

To the tennis courts, Brett Bacharach made the rolls for a second year while Alec Adamson picked up his second honor. The men's tennis team won the university's Lysle Leach Team GPA award, although many of its high GPAs belong to freshmen, who are not eligible for the Big West award. On the women's side, Tiffany Pham and Layla Sanders were repeat winners while Frederique Sleiffer garnered her first award.

From track & field, the UC Davis women tied for the league lead with 13 honorees. In addition to Barber, Erika Barr, Catherine Li, Cekarri Nixon and Veronica Smart scored their second awards. Tori Edwards, Raquel Lambdin, Clara MacLeod, Holly Miller, Michaela Mundt, Rochelle Nadreau, Emma Redick and Danielle Steffen each picked up a first. The men's team had exactly one sixth of the league's 78 winners. Joining Ehlenbach are two-time honorees Matthew Bender, Trevor Halsted, Cody Nguyen, Nick Ratto and Abhineet Ram; and first-timers Miguel Aceves, Amar Dholakia, Patrick Fitzgerald and Jelani Legohn. (Note: the list of repeat winners does not include those who also won All-Academic accolades in the fall for cross country).

UC Davis matched Hawai'i with the most honorees in women's water polo, each posting eight of the 37 total scholars. Fullerton and Wilding are joined by second-time winners Allyson Hansen, Keelia Houston, Bryn Lutz and Hailey Wright; plus first-time recipients Hannah Harvey and Courtney Weddle.

In all, 421 athletes from around the Big West Conference claimed All-Academic distinction in 2014-15, up from 406 in 2013-14.

UC Davis honorees only.

Lauren Beyer (Jr., Communication)
Kelsey Harris (Sr., Sociology)
Brianna Salvatore (Sr., International Relations)
Brianne Yasukochi (So., Communication)

Cameron Law (Sr., Managerial Economics)
Raul Jacobson (Sr., Organizational Studies)
Tino Lipson (Sr., Psychology)
Justin Mullins (So., Economics)
Mason Novak (Jr., Neurobiology, Physiology & Behavior)
Izaak Silva (Sr., Communication)
John Williams (Sr., Managerial Economics)

Christa Castello (Jr., Human Development)
Dana Cruse (So., Human Development)
Christina Guidry (Jr., Communication)
Amy Nunez (Sr., Exercise Biology)
Alicia Paine (Jr., Mathematics)
Katie Robertson (So., Aerospace Science & Engineering)

Mike Brockington (Sr., Economics)

Blair Lewis (Sr., Economics)
Beverly Vatananugulkit (Sr., English)
Andrea Wong (Jr., American Studies)

Alec Adamson (So., Economics)
Brett Bacharach (Jr., Aerospace Science & Engineering)

Tiffany Pham (Jr., Nutrition Science)
Layla Sanders (Sr., Chemical Engineering)
Frederique Sleiffer (So., International Relations)

Miguel Aceves (Jr., Sociology)
Matthew Bender (Jr., Mechanical Engineering)
Amar Dholakia (Jr., Biological Sciences)
Trevor Ehlenbach (Sr., Film Studies)
Patrick Fitzgerald (Jr., Chemistry)
Trevor Halsted (Sr., Mechanical Engineering)
Jelani Legohn (So., Linguistics)
Cody Nguyen (Jr., Electrical Engineering)
Nick Ratto (Jr., Political Science)
Abhineet Ram (Jr., Cell Biology)

Katie Barber (Sr., Animal Sciences)
Erika Barr (Jr., Human Development)
Tori Edwards (Jr., History)
Raquel Lambdin (Sr., Biological Sciences)
Catherine Li (Jr., Animal Science)
Clara MacLeod (So., Environmental Policy Analysis & Planning)
Holly Miller (Sr., Human Development)
Michaela Mundt (So., Genetics)
Rochelle Nadreau (So., Computer Science)
Cekarri Nixon (Sr., Political Science)
Emma Redick (So., International Relations)
Veronica Smart (Sr., Sociology)
Danielle Steffen (So., Biological Sciences)

Elsie Fullerton (Sr., Genetics)
Hannah Harvey (So., Neurobiology, Physiology & Behavior)
Allyson Hansen (Sr., Human Development)
Keelia Houston (Sr., Political Science)
Bryn Lutz (Jr., Animal Science)
Jillian Wilding (Sr., Sustainable Agriculture & Food Systems)
Hailey Wright (Jr., Evolution, Ecology & Biodiversity)
Courtney Weddle (Jr., Managerial Economics)