Hall of Fame Nominations Due Saturday

Nov. 29, 2013

DAVIS, Calif.- Saturday (Nov. 30) is the nomination deadline for the 2013-14 induction class of the Cal Aggie Athletics Hall of Fame. Details and forms are available at the UC Davis Athletics website at the links listed below.

Founded in 1980, the CAAHOF recognizes outstanding accomplishment in intercollegiate athletics at UC Davis, and provides a continuing focus for the interest of athletics by students, alumni and the entire campus community. Entrance into the CAAHOF takes two forms: up to five inductees in the Student-Athlete category, plus one as a Non-Participant. The former honors achievement for a student-athlete's competition career at UC Davis, the latter is bestowed upon those who earn distinction in a professional capacity, such as a coach or institutional representative.

The CAAHOF awards program also includes two prestigious honors in the Special Recognition Award and the Aggie Legacy Award. Special Recognition honors outstanding volunteer contributions to the athletics program. The Aggie Legacy Award, now in its third year of existence, honors former UC Davis student-athletes who have gone on to athletics-related distinction after their departures from the university. The first three winners of this award were Boise State head football coach Chris Petersen (2011), six-time Ironman Triathlon world champion Dave Scott (2012) and former NFL kicker Rolf Bernirschke (2013).

Please note: nominations are good for a two-year duration. Thus, individuals nominated in 2011 but not selected for induction must be resubmitted to receive further consideration. Individuals nominated in 2012 but not selected for induction are automatically renominated for the 2013-14 class; however, if not chosen they must be resubmitted by this time next year. Nominations for any of the CAAHOF awards may be completed at any time during the year.

For more information on the CAAHOF, consult the following links:

CAAHOF Inductee Rosters
CAAHOF Nomination Form
Aggie Legacy Award Nomination Form
Summary of Selection Criteria

Aggie Legacy Award nomination form: http://www.ucdavisaggies.com/hallfame/legacy-form.html Selection criteria for all awards: http://www.ucdavisaggies.com/hallfame/criteria.html

The CAAHOF inductees, Special Recognition and Aggie Legacy Award winners will be announced in the early spring. They are honored along with the annual student-athlete awards at a banquet in early June.