Aggie Women Break Two Relay Records To Launch Big West Championships

Feb. 23, 2005

Complete Results

LONG BEACH, Calif. - Each of the UC Davis women's 200-yard medley and 800-yard freestyle relay squads broke school records as the Aggie women held a close third-place standing after one day of action in the 2005 Big West Conference swimming and diving championships at the Belmont Plaza Wednesday. The UC Davis women scored 95 points on the day, one point ahead of fourth-place UC Santa Barbara and 18 points behind the first-place tie between UC Irvine and Pacific.

On the men's side, the Aggies shattered previous season-best performances with the top finishers in each of the day's three events: the 200 medley relay, 1,000 freestyle and 800 freestyle relay. UC Davis is in fifth place after the first day, just four points off fourth-place Cal St. Northridge. UCSB is atop the team scoring column with its 126-point total.

The 200 medley relay team of Yuka Kobayashi, Ashley Cayford, Hannah Watanabe and Renee Dyer finished fourth in the day's opening event with a time of 1:43.47, well ahead of the previous UC Davis record of 1:46.01. Then in Wednesday's finale, the 800 free relay team of Jill Olson, Kobayashi, Michelle Jennings and Dyer compiled a third-place 7:30.89, beating the old Aggie mark by almost 13 seconds.

The Big West meet represents the fifth time that 200 medley foursome has broken the school record in the past six weeks. Jennings finished fourth in Wednesday's lone individual race, clocking a 10:20.96 in the 1,000 free.



The men's 800 free relay team, consisting of Russell Taylor, Peter Hagens, Kyle Leto and Nik Kemp, placed fourth at 6:47.74, nearly a 15-second improvement of the previous season best, set in January at UC San Diego. Leto also led the Aggies in the 1,000 free, finishing ninth at 9:35.43. That mark ranks him second all-time in the UC Davis record book.

The men's 200 medley relay team opened competition with a sixth-place finish. The foursome of Jason Kim, Kyle Payne, Kevin Bacharach and Ryan Tucker combined for a solid 1:36.16 in the event, more than a full second faster than the previous 2004-05 best.

This is UC Davis' first year of competition in the Big West Conference championships. The meet continues on Thursday, starting with the women's 500 freestyle at 11 a.m.

Winners plus UC Davis results only

WOMEN'S TEAM SCORING (after three events) - 1 (tie). UC Irvine; Pacific, 113; 3. UC Davis, 95; 4. UC Santa Barbara, 94; 5. Idaho, 59; 6. Cal Poly, 50; 7. Cal St. Northridge, 35.

MEN'S TEAM SCORING (after three events ) - 1. UC Santa Barbara, 126; 2. Pacific, 106; 3. UC Irvine, 84; 4. Cal St. Northridge, 79; 5. UC Davis, 75; 6. Cal Poly, 65.

WOMEN'S 200 MEDLEY RELAY - 1. Pacific (Shasky, Jardine, Rowe, McNamee), 1:43.22... 4. UC Davis `A' (Yuka Kobayashi, Ashley Cayford, Hannah Watanabe, Renee Dyer), 1:43.47; 9. UC Davis `B' (Jennifer Ginsberg, Jessica Lee, Abbey Cornell, Jill Olson), 1:48.10; 11. UC Davis `C' (Melanie Covert, Ashley Elgas, Deborah Seiler, Michelle Janitski), 1:51.15.

MEN'S 200 MEDLEY RELAY - 1. UC Irvine (Erazo, Simonsen, Tom, Reilly), 1:29.36... 6. UC Davis `A' (Jason Kim, Kyle Payne, Kevin Bacharach, Ryan Tucker), 1:36.16; 9. UC Davis `B' (Adam Pluemer, Vincent Mecozzi, Kaleb Wallen, Matt Crawford), 1:36.36; 11. UC Davis `C' (Travis Williams, Ryan Driscoll, Andrius Urbaitis, Brandon Bireley), 1:38.82.

WOMEN'S 1,000 FREESTYLE - 1. Jen Radeke, Pacific, 10:04.04... 4. Michelle Jennings, 10:20.96; 8. Bergen Beck, 10:24.44; 13. Rachelle Compton, 10:35.87; 15. Julie Tracy, 10:40.74; 16. Lisa Petersen, 10:41.27.

MEN'S 1,000 FREESTYLE - 1. Jason Hardy, UC Santa Barbara, 9:15.34... 9. Kyle Leto, 9:35.43; 10. Lars Rockholm, 9:37.52; 14. Toki Burke, 9:58.26; 19. Ryan Driscoll, 10:08.90.

WOMEN'S 800 FREESTYLE RELAY - 1. UC Santa Barbara (Dalonzo, Netzley, Eller, Schwalb), 7:24.80... 3. UC Davis `A' (Jill Olson, Yuka Kobayashi, Michelle Jennings, Renee Dyer), 7:30.89; 9. UC Davis `B' (Katie Griffin, Laura Leppke, Emily Hughes, Abbey Cornell), 8:07.25.

MEN'S 800 FREESTYLE RELAY - 1. UC Santa Barbara (Peck, Hurst, Dame, Porteous), 6:33.71... 4. UC Davis `A' (Russell Taylor, Peter Hagens, Kyle Leto, Nik Kemp), 6:47.74; 8. UC Davis `B' (Ryan Tucker, Kaleb Wallen, Lars Rockholm, Matt Crawford), 7:01.39.