Dyer, Leto Reach 'A' Finals In Final Day Of American Short Course Championships

March 5, 2005

Complete Results

AUSTIN, Texas - Junior Renee Dyer and Kyle Leto each advanced to `A' finals to highlight UC Davis action in the third and final day of the American Short Course Swimming Championships at the Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center Saturday.

Leto had the highest finish of any Aggie in the meet, placing sixth in the 1,650-yard freestyle with a season-best mark of 16 minutes, 6.56 seconds. That mark represents almost a three-second improvement over his previous best, set at the Big West Championships one week ago. Dyer reached the grand final of the 100 free, posting an eighth-place time of 51.41. That mark improved her season-best time by a one-hundredth of a second. She ranks second all-time in school history for that event.

This was the second top-eight finish for both Dyer and Leto in the three-day championships. Leto had placed seventh in the 500 free on Friday and Dyer took seventh in the 100 breaststroke in Thursday's action.

In other highlights, Peter Hagens and Russell Taylor both advanced to the `B' final of the men's 100 free, finishing 15th and 16th, respectively. Taylor posted a 46.53 in the preliminaries, cutting more than two full seconds from his previous best.

Taylor also led a trio of UC Davis swimmers in the 200 individual medley, placing 12th at 1:52.67. Kyle Payne swam the event for the first time this season, posting a 20th-place 1:55.15; while Nik Kemp improved his season-best by better than 10 seconds, posting a 1:55.44 in the event. Adam Pluemer won the `C' final of the 200 backstroke to place 17th overall, finishing with a time of 1:53.52.

On the women's side, Hannah Watanabe improved her previous season-best 100 free mark from 52.98 to 52.17 in the morning prelims, then cut that best to 52.14 in the `B' final. She finished 11th overall.



Olympians Michael Phelps and Natalie Coughlin each were double-event winners on the final day of the meet. Phelps won the 100 freestyle at 42.53 then captured the 200 IM with an American record of 1:42.78. Coughlin captured those same events, posting a 48.18 in the 100 free and 1:57.29 in the IM.

This is the second year UC Davis has competed at the American Short Course Championships. The Aggies are in the second year of a four-year reclassification period to NCAA Division I membership and are thus ineligible for the collegiate national meet.

Lee & Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center - March 5, 2005

Winners plus UC Davis competitors

WOMEN'S 200 BACKSTROKE - 1. Hayley McGregory, Texas, 1:55.45.

MEN'S 200 BACKSTROKE - 1. Aaron Piersol, Longhorn Aquatics, 1:40.14... 17. Adam Pluemer, 1:53.52 (1:59.3 prelims).

WOMEN'S 100 FREESTYLE - 1. Natalie Coughlin, California Aquatics, 48.18... 8. Renee Dyer, 51.41 (51.69 prelims); 11. Hannah Watanabe, 52.14 (52.17 prelims).

MEN'S 100 FREESTYLE - 1. Michael Phelps, Club Wolverine, 42.53... 15. Peter Hagens, 46.70 (46.67 prelims); 16. Russell Taylor, 46.89 (46.53 prelims); 18. Ryan Tucker, 46.47 (46.95 prelims); 22. Nik Kemp, 47.34 (47.32 prelims); 31. Matt Crawford, 48.13 (48.09 prelims).

WOMEN'S 1650 FREESTYLE - 1. Kelsey Ditto, Longhorn Aquatics, 16:29.36.

MEN'S 1650 FREESTYLE - 1. Chris Thompson, Club Wolverine, 14:59.32... 6. Kyle Leto, 16:06.56.

WOMEN'S 200 INDIVIDUAL MEDLEY - 1. Natalie Coughlin, California Aquatics, 1:57.29.

MEN'S 200 INDIVIDUAL MEDLEY - 1. Michael Phelps, Club Wolverine, 1:42.78... 12. Russell Taylor, 1:52.67 (1:54.98 prelims); 20. Kyle Payne, 1:55.15 (1:55.57 prelims); 22. Nik Kemp, 1:55.44 (1:56.67 prelims).

WOMEN'S 400 MEDLEY RELAY - 1. Terrapin `A' (Rogers, Brix, Dwelley, Bard), 3:44.42.

MEN'S 400 MEDLEY RELAY - 1. Southern Methodist (Clark, Nylin, Becerra, Postma), 3:13.76.