Motekaitis named to ASCA Coaches Hall of Fame

Jan. 22, 2018

DAVIS, Calif. — UC Davis women’s swimming associate head coach, Pete Motekaitis, has been selected as one of four honorees to be inducted into the American Swimming Coaches Association (ASCA) Coaches Hall of Fame as announced by the ASCA Board of Directors on Monday.

From local club teams to Olympians, Motekaitis’ 33 years of coaching experience spans across all levels. As a coach for United States Swimming, Motekaitis has guided several athletes to Olympic success including 2004 Olympic silver medalist Haley Cope, three-time United States Para-Olympic team member Mark Barr, and 2012 United States Olympic team member Scott Weltz.

Across his 15 seasons as the men’s swimming head coach at UC Davis, Motekaitis developed 22 All-Americans and two national champions, tallied three top-5 NCAA Championship finishes, and became one of just two men’s collegiate coaches to receive the ASCA Coaching Excellence Award. After men's swimming was cut from athletics at UC Davis, he became a member of the coaching staff for the women’s swimming program where he is currenlty in his eighth season.

Motekaitis also spent 23 years as the head coach for Davis High School’s male and female swim teams. Under his tutelage from 1984 to 2007, the Blue Devils saw 31 league championships and 20 section titles, produced 41 high school All-Americans, set six national leading times, a national high school relay record, and two national individual records.

Serving as head coach from 1984 to 1997, Motekaitis also lent his coaching talents to the local Davis Aquadarts Club Team. Helping grow the program from 41 swimmers in 1984 to 550 in 1997—the largest team in the Sierra Nevada—Motekaitis led the Aquadarts to 15 league championship titles, nine LSC titles, and tallied two top-7 finishes at the Junior National Championships.

A 1996-97 USA Swimming Committee member for United States Swimming, Motekaitis also served as the Sierra Nevada Coaches representative and currently volunteers as the director of the Davis Aquamonsters Club Team as well as President of the Sacramento Summer League.

Ed Spencer, Gregg Wilson, and Chuck Riggs will be inducted along with Motekaitis at the ASCA Annual Banquet scheduled to take place on Sept. 6, 2018 in Anaheim, Calif.

- #GoAgs -