Women's Swimming and Diving Joins MPSF



July 21, 2010

DAVIS, Calif. - The UC Davis women's swimming and diving team will join the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF), which will add the sport for the upcoming 2010-11 academic year, it was announced Monday by the conference office.

The sport becomes the 10th sponsored by the MPSF, a Division I conference which specializes in Olympic sports. Women's swimming and diving joins women's gymnastics and women's lacrosse as UC Davis teams that compete in the conference.

In addition to UC Davis, former Big West Conference affiliates Cal Poly, Pacific and UC Santa Barbara have joined the MPSF as have Cal State Bakersfield, Loyola Marymount, Northern Colorado, the University of San Diego and Seattle University.

The inaugural MPSF Women's Swimming and Diving Championship Meet will be held February 23-26, 2011, at Belmont Plaza in Long Beach, Calif.

"I think it's great," said head coach Barbara Jahn. "It's a nice medium-sized conference of like institutions who are all Division I and I'm looking forward to the new competition that the team will face."

A total of 37 institutions and 82 teams from the Pac-10, Big West, West Coast, Mountain West, Western Athletic, Big 12 and Sun Belt Conferences now compete in the MPSF. The conference owns a combined 61 NCAA Division I national team championships dating back to its initial season in 1992-93.

UC Davis, Cal Poly, Pacific and UC Santa Barbara previously competed in the Big West Conference, but chose to join the MPSF after the Big West discontinued its men's and women's swimming and diving championship.

Last season, Jahn was named the 2010 Big West Conference Women's Coach of the Year after leading UC Davis to its first ever conference championship at the Division I level. The Aggie women won six titles en route to a program-best 864 points. In total, the team broke ten UC Davis records, one Big West Conference record and two meet records while achieving nine NCAA "B" Consideration times during the championship meet.