Swimming and Diving Sets 2013-14 Schedule

Geneva Azevedo is one of 12 senior swimmers or divers who will compete for the Aggies this season.

Aug 26, 2013

2013-14 Schedule

DAVIS, Calif. -
Two-time Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Coach of the Year Barbara Jahn has announced UC Davis' 2013-14 schedule, which features three home dual meets.

The Aggies will battle Fresno State plus league foes UC Santa Barbara and Loyola Marymount at the Schaal Aquatics Center this season. 

Jahn, in her 39th season at the helm, and her Aggie swimmers and divers will look to defend their Mountain Pacific Sports Federation title this year and capture its third league crown in the last four seasons.

The schedule starts in the fall with the Blue-Gold Intrasquad scrimmage on Oct. 12. Competition begins on Oct. 19 on the road at the Pacific Invitational followed by a dual meet at San Jose State on Oct. 26. The Aggies will then head to Southern California to face San Diego and Oregon State in a double-dual on Nov. 2 before heading to Nevada on Nov. 9 for a meet against the Wolf Pack.

The fall season closes at the three-day Mizzou Invitational, which runs from Nov. 21-23 in Columbia, Mo. 

The spring season begins in January, when the swimming and diving teams split for competition. UC Davis' divers will head to Bruin Diving Invitational, hosted by UCLA, from Jan. 10-12, with the swim team also hosting Fresno State on Jan. 12.

Aggie swimmers will then visit MPSF foe Pacific on Jan. 18 before the teams reunite for the next two conference meets.

The Aggies will travel to CSU Bakersfield on Jan. 19 before hosting rival UC Santa Barbara on Jan. 24. The swim team will once again compete on its own on Jan. 26, when they welcome Loyola Marymount to Schaal.

The MPSF Championships begin on Feb. 19 while the NCAA Championships kickoff on March 20 in Minneapolis, Minn., at the University of Minnesota Aquatic Center. 

The Aggies return all three of their individual winners at the MPSF Championships from a year ago. Samantha Shellem (500 free), Katie Edwards (200 free) and Liliana Alvarez (100 breast) are all back for the 2013-14 campaign. UC Davis also claimed the 800 free relay title at last year's MPSF Championships.