Marshall, Wartenburg Receive Top Big West Awards

Drew Wartenburg

May 15, 2013

IRVINE, Calif. - Standout sprinter Ashley Marshall, winner of the both the 100- and 200-meter dashes at last weekend's Big West Championships, was named the league's female track athlete of the year while Drew Wartenburg earned women's coach of the year honors after leading UC Davis to the track and field title.

The Big West made the postseason awards announcements on Wednesday after hosting their conference championship meet at Cal State Northridge on Friday and Saturday.

Marshall, a sophomore from Moreno Valley, Calif., is the second straight Aggie winner for track athlete of the year accolades, joining teammate Sarah Sumpter who was named winner last year after taking the 5,000 and 10,000.

Marshall earned her accolades after blitzing to record-setting wins in the both the 100 and 200 while running the second leg on the Aggies' runner-up 4x100 relay. She won the 100 in 11.34 seconds, breaking her own school record as well as the meet record of 11.36 established by Cal Poly's Tamatha Jackson of Cal Poly in 1999. She tied the conference mark set by Sonja Green of UNLV in 1987.

Marshall came back later in the meet to win the 200 in a school-record time of 23.25 seconds. That mark beat meet and conference records as well. Her times continued to move her up the regional rankings, putting her 11th and 15th on the West Region's 100 and 200 lists, respectively.

Wartenburg was named the Big West Women's Coach of the Year for the second straight season. He shared the award in 2012 but earned it for himself this year after the Aggies' dominated the conference championships last weekend by scoring 172.5 points. UC Davis won the meet by 44 points over runner-up UCSB.

The Aggies' won eight individual titles at the Big West Championships. Wartenburg is in his second season as head coach and is in his fifth year as UC Davis' cross country and track and field programs overall. He has twice been named the Big West Cross Women's Country Coach of the Year.



The male track athlete of the year award went to Carl Horsley of Cal State Northridge, and John Prader of Cal Poly and Samantha Balentine of Hawaii received the men's and women's field athletes of the year awards. Long Beach State's Willie Alexander was named the male freshman of the year while Cal Poly's Laura Hollander received the women's. Andy Sythe of Long Beach State was tabbed the men's coach of the year.

UC Davis will continue its season next weekend when it travels to the NCAA West Regional at the University of Texas.