Madden places first at Conference Championships

Aside from Thomas Madden, the last UC Davis cross-country runner to earn an individual first-place victory at the Big West Conference Championships was by Jonathan Peterson back in 2010.
Oct. 28, 2017

Men's 8K Results | Women's 6K Results

RIVERSIDE, Calif. --
Graduate student Thomas Madden was crowned as the individual conference champion in the men's 8K race, while sophomore Sarah Anderson was the first to cross the line for the Aggies in the women's 6K race, to help their respective squads to a fourth-place and fifth-place team finish, respectively, at the 2017 Big West Conference Championships this Saturday morning in Riverside, Calif.

Starting off the day with the women's 6K event, it was Anderson to pace the Aggies for the fourth time in a row, ending her day with a time of 20:46.0, while sophomore Haley Adel was the second Aggie contingent to cross the line, finishing at 21:28.6 to place in 15th. Both Anderson and Adel scraped time off their most recent personal bests, with Anderson cutting her time down after already doing so twice this season, this time by 20 seconds, and Adel cutting her time down by nine seconds.

For the rest of the runners on the women's squad, junior Megan MacGregor got a 34th place finish after ending her race at 22:07.0, while freshman Alexis Ballman followed shortly behind, crossing the line in 38th place with a time of 22:14.4. Junior Christine Bayliss got a time of 22:43.9, placing in 48th, while sophomore Lauren Powers placed in 51st with her 22:56.5 time, drastically cutting her previous personal best 6K time down by 53 seconds.

Sophomore Julia Lemak rounded out the scoring for the Aggies with her 24:24.8 clock time, and freshman Morgan Bowman, who made her season debut in the 6K event, finished five places behind Lemak to conclude the women's participation at this event.

On the men's squad, it was Madden who finished with the fastest time out of all conference championships runners in the men's 8K event, clocking in his time at 24:13.7. Junior Jordy Ceja was the second Aggie contingent to cross the line for UC Davis, finishing his race at 24:45.8 to secure for himself an eight-place finish.

Down the line for the Aggies came senior Jesus Salas Jr., who ended his day in 44th place with a time of 26:02.9, which was 15 seconds faster than his previous personal best 8K time received at this season's Capitol Cross Challenge. The 49th and 50th place finishers were junior Kiernan Elam, who beat his personal best 8K time by nine seconds, and graduate student Jon Horvath, respectively.

Freshman Ryman Crone finished four places behind Horvath with a time of 26:30.9, while senior Anthony Sanchez crossed the line at 27:05.9 to secure a spot at 61st place, as well as round out the scoring for the Aggies. Ending the men's participation at the conference championships was sophomore Xolan Brown, who finished his race with a 27:39.3 time, which was just less than three seconds behind his personal best 8K time received at the 2017 Santa Clara Bronco Invitational.

The UC Davis squads will stay put at home as they host and prepare for the next race, the Doc Adams Open, on Nov. 4.

Big West Conference Championships
UCR Agricultural Operations Course (Riverside, Calif.)
Winners plus UC Davis finishers only for individual results

WOMEN'S 6K TEAM SCORES -- 1. UC Santa Barbara, 45; 2. Cal Poly, 47; 3. Cal St. Fullerton, 77; 4. UC Riverside, 89; 5. UC Davis, 133; 6. Long Beach State, 150; 7. Cal St. Northridge, 202; 8. UC Irvine, 221; 9. Hawai'i, 259.

WOMEN'S 6K INDIVIDUALS -- 1. Jenna Hinkle (UCSB), 20:17.1; 5. Sarah Anderson (UCD), 20:46.0; 15. Haley Adel (UCD), 21:28.6; 34. Megan MacGregor (UCD), 22:07.0; 38. Alexis Ballman (UCD), 22:14.4; 48. Christine Bayliss (UCD), 22:43.9; 51. Lauren Powers (UCD), 22:56.5; 63. Julia Lemak (UCD0 24:24.8; 68. Morgan Bowman (UCD), 25:34.7.

MEN'S 8K TEAM SCORES -- 1. Cal Poly, 29; 2. UC Santa Barbara, 55; 3. Cal St. Fullerton, 112; 4. UC Davis, 141; 5. UC Irvine, 144; 6. Cal St. Northridge, 149; 7. Long Beach State, 149; 8. UC Riverside, 158.

MEN'S 8K INDIVIDUAL -- 1. Thomas Madden (UCD), 24:13.7; 8. Jordy Ceja (UCD), 24:45.8; 44. Jesus Salas (UCD), 26:02.9; 49. Kiernan Elam (UCD), 26:15.1; 50. Jon Horvath (UCD), 26:24.7; 54. Ryman Crone (UCD), 26:30.9; 61. Anthony Sanchez (UCD), 27:05.9; 66. Xolan Brown (UCD), 27:39.3.

-- #GoAgs --