Stone Named to NCBWA Mid-Season Watch List

Freshman right-hander Zach Stone is one of 50 players named to the mid-season watch list for the NCBWA's Stopper of the Year Award.

April 23, 2014

DAVIS, Calif. -- UC Davis freshman closer Zach Stone was named as one of 50 players to the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association's watch list for its 10th annual Stopper of the Year Award, the organization announced on Wednesday.

The Eureka, Calif., native joins representatives from 21 different conferences, including national saves leader Sam Moore of UC Irvine, Reed Reilly of Cal Poly, and Dillon Tate of UC Santa Barbara, from the Big West Conference, and is one of only four freshmen on the list along with Alabama's Thomas Burrows, Miami's Bryan Garcia, and Indiana State's Ryan Keaffaber.

The national saves leader and four other finalists will be announced on June 4, with the NCBWA's All-America Committee selecting the winner during the 2014 College World Series in Omaha, Neb.

Stone enters this weekend's action with a 2-2 overall record and a 1.82 ERA to go along with nine saves. He ranks second in the Big West in the latter category behind the Anteaters' Moore -- a mark that also ranks second in a single-season in UC Davis history and tied for eighth on the Aggies' career chart.

Opponents are hitting just .141 against the right-hander, who has also struck out 22 in just under 25 innings this season.

UC Davis welcomes Moore and UC Irvine to Dobbins Stadium this weekend for a three-game series, opening play on Friday (April 25) at 2:30 p.m., with games two and three following on Saturday and Sunday at 1 p.m.

Pitcher, School, Yr.
David Berg, UCLA, Jr.
Greg Brody, Belmont, Jr.
Joe Broussard, LSU, Jr.
Nick Burdi, Louisville, Jr.
Thomas Burrows, Alabama, Fr.
Matt Campbell, Clemson, Sr.
Michael Cederoth, San Diego State, Jr.
Andy Cox, Tennessee, So.
Jacob Cronenworth, Michigan, So.
Bret Dahlson, Loyola Marymount, Sr.
Eric Dorsch, Kent State, R-Jr.
Matt Eckelman, Saint Louis, So.
Riley Ferrell, TCU, So.
Aaron Fossas, Wake Forest, R-So.
Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt, Jr.
Bryan Garcia, Miami (Fla.), Fr.
Andres Gracia, Samford, Jr.
Michael Gunn, Arkansas, Jr.
Chase Henry, College of Charleston, Jr.
Zach Hirsch, Nebraska, Sr.
Nick Howard, Virginia, Jr.
Reece Karalus, Santa Clara, So.
Eric Karch, Pepperdine, Sr.
Ryan Keaffaber, Indiana State, Fr.
Mason Klotz, Southeastern Louisiana, R-So.
Brandon Koch, Dallas Baptist, So.
Jacob Lindgren, Mississippi State, Jr.
Seth Lucio, Tennessee Tech, Jr.
Justin McCalvin, Kennesaw State, Jr.
Brendan McCurry, Oklahoma State, Sr.
Sutter McLoughlin, Sacramento State, So.
Josh Michalec, Baylor, Sr.
Sam Moore, UC Irvine Jr.
Ryan Pennell, Elon, Sr.
Ashton Perritt, Liberty, Jr.
Jake Reed, Oregon, Jr.
Reed Reilly, Cal Poly, Jr.
Jason Richman, Georgia Southern, So.
Jordan Romano, Oral Roberts, Jr
Bradley Roney, Southern Miss, Jr.
Victor Sanchez, New Mexico, So.
Joel Seddon, South Carolina, Jr.
Zach Stone, UC Davis, Fr.
Travis Stout, Jacksonville State, Jr.
Dillon Tate, UC Santa Barbara, So.
Ryan Thompson, Campbell, Sr.
Ian Tompkins, Western Kentucky, Jr.
A.J. Vanegas, Stanford, Sr.
Chase Wellbrock, Houston, Sr.
Ryan Williams, East Carolina, Sr.