Hawkins Earns First Team All-Big West, Newcomer of the Year Honors

Ryan Sypkens (pictured) and J.T. Adenrele each earned a spot on the Big West Men's Basketball All-Conference team by receiving honorable mention.

March 11, 2013

All-Conference Release

IRVINE, Calif. - Corey Hawkins, UC Davis' first-ever Big West scoring champion, received All-Big West Conference First Team and Newcomer of the Year accolades and was one of three Aggies recognized by the conference on Monday.

In addition to the sophomore guard, junior guard Ryan Sypkens and sophomore forward J.T. Adenrele also received honorable mention.

Voted on by all 10 men's basketball head coaches, the all-conference teams and specialty award winners were announced Monday morning on a media teleconference prior to Thursday's quarterfinal round at the Big West Tournament.   

Ending the season as the conference's top scorer at 20.9 points per game, Hawkins was also ranked among the nation's top scorers throughout the entire season. Highlighted by his 40-point, 12-rebound effort at Hawai'i on Jan. 19, the Goodyear, Ariz. native posted 30 or more points in five games.

Against the Rainbow Warriors, Hawkins helped the Aggies become the first Big West team to earn a road victory inside the Stan Sheriff Center in a game where he broke a 34-year individual scoring record on 14 shots.

The two-time Big West Player of the Week recipient also finished the season ranked amongst the conference's elite in free throw percentage (No. 3, .846), steals (No. 7, 1.5 spg), field goal percentage (No. 9, .480), three-point field goal percentage (No. 9, .405), three-point field goals made per game (No. 10, 1.7 3FG/gm) and rebounding (No. 15, 5.6 rpg). 

Hailing from nearby Elk Grove, Sypkens ended the 2012-13 regular season as the nation's No. 1 three-point shooter with his .468 percentage and No. 4 in the country averaging 3.78 three-point field goals made per game. Sypkens also finished the regular season with a career-high 14.3 points per game scoring average, trailing only Hawkins for the team's top scoring mark. 

Besides leading the conference in both three-point shooting categories, Sypkens is also ranked No. 12 in scoring.

On Feb. 14, at home against Hawai'i, Sypkens sank his first of five field goals from three against the Rainbow Warriors; with that shot, Sypkens set a new single season and all-time three-point shooting record at the same time.

Sypkens also tied another three-point record last November, at Nevada, by draining eight shots from distance, a single-game mark also shared by current teammates Tyler Les and Hawkins.

Roseville, Calif. native Adenrele was the final Aggie honored by the Big West Conference Monday afternoon, receiving conference recognition for the first time since donning a UC Davis uniform.

The sophomore forward scored more than twice as many points (382 vs. 167), blocked twice as many shots (46 vs. 22) and nearly doubled the amount of rebounds collected this season (180 vs. 92) compared to the final numbers recorded in his first season. 

Throughout the 2012-13 season, Adenrele possessed either the No. 1 or No. 2 field goal percentage in the conference and enters this week's Tournament with the second-highest figure at .564 percent.

Once of the most formidable shot blockers in the conference, Adenrele also finished the season ranked No. 3 with a 1.5 blocks per game average.

As is the case with teammates Hawkins and Sypkens, Adenrele etched his name in the school's record books with 46 blocked shots, a new single-season high. 

This year's UC Davis roster is responsible for three program highs by finishing with 14 overall, nine conference and six road victories; earning nine more victories compared to last year's total, the Aggies' +9 win differential is one of the top-10 margins in the nation.

By finishing as the conference's No. 6 seed, UC Davis will face Cal Poly, the No. 3 seed, in the quarterfinal round on Thursday, March 14, at the Big West Conference Men's Basketball Tournament. Tipoff will take place 30 minutes after the event's 12 p.m. contest between UC Santa Barbara and Pacific.