UC Davis to Host El Macero Classic This Weekend

Matt Hansen

April 17, 2014

Live Scoring

EL MACERO, Calif. - The UC Davis men's golf team will co-host its second tournament of the season, but the first in the local area when it welcomes 11 other teams for the El Macero Classic beginning Friday at El Macero Country Club.

The tournament, known the past two years as the Winchester Classic, was moved to El Macero Country Club and renamed this spring for logistical reasons. The 54-hole tournament is the final one of the regular season for the Aggies who will then turn to their attention to the Big West Championships which begin Apr. 27.

The tournament is being co-hosted by Nevada. UC Davis previously co-hosted this season The Prestige at PGA WEST with Stanford at La Quinta, Calif.

Friday's first round at El Macero Country Club begins with tee times off the first and 10th holes beginning at 7:20 a.m., with the second round starting at 10:30 a.m. on Saturday, also off of No. 1 only. The tournament concludes on Sunday with tee times starting at 10 a.m., with teams returning to holes 1 and 10 to start their rounds.

The picturesque par-72, 6,912-yard course - which will be home to a new short-game facility for both the UC Davis men's and women's teams after its construction later this spring - was an annual host for Aggie men's tournaments during the program's NCAA Division II era. This is the first tournament at the challenging course since UC Davis started in Div. I for the 2007-08 season.

Besides UC Davis, other teams entered include Boise State, Cal Poly, Colorado State, Cal State Fullerton, Idaho, Nevada, Sacramento State, Grand Canyon, Marquette, Seattle University and Utah Valley. Defending champion Fullerton is ranked 57th by Golfstat, the highest ranking of the tournament teams while UC Davis is close behind and ranked 69th.

The Titans won last year's Winchester Classic with a five-stroke victory over the Aggies, who were 9 over. Jonny Baxter, playing as an individual this week for UC Davis, tied for eighth along with Ben Corfee who returns to the lineup. Matt Hansen, who leads the Aggies in scoring (70.4), will join Corfee along with Joshua Granger, Luke Vivolo and Nicholas Noya. Mike Brockington and Will Scarlett will also play as individuals.