Men's Golf Headed to Stanford Regional

Matt Hansen was the individual medalist at the 2011 Tucson Regional. (Todd Hammond)

May 7, 2012

Official NCAA Announcement

DAVIS, Calif. - The UC Davis men's golf team will be the No. 13 seed at the Stanford Regional of the 2012 NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championship, held at the Stanford Golf Course in Stanford, Calif. it was announced on Monday.

UC Davis returns to the NCAA Men's Golf Championship for the second consecutive year after earning the Big West Conference's automatic bid when it won the league championship last week. The regional tournament will be held May 17-19 on the par-70, 6,727-yard course.

"There is a certain comfort level with playing on a course close to home where we've played tournaments in the past," said head coach Cy Williams. "Ultimately, we'll be confident based on how we're playing, how we did in the last tournament and how we do this week to get ready. The main goal is to play well and if we do that, we'll be able to beat enough teams to advance."

Thirteen teams and 10 individuals not on one of the participating teams will take part in the 54-hole regional, hosted by Stanford, with 18 holes of stroke play on each day of competition. The top five and one individual will advance to the 115th NCAA Championships May 29-June 3 at The Riviera Country Club in Pacific Palisades, Calif.

The regional is headlined by top-seeded Cal which ranks second nationally in addition to ninth-ranked Stanford and No. 14 San Diego State. No. 22 UCF and No. 25 LSU round out the five top-20 teams assigned to the regional.

UC Davis returns to regional action for the third time in four years after also earning a berth in 2009 and 2011. The 2009 season saw the Aggies finish 13th overall in just their second year as a Div. I program.

Sophomore Matt Hansen claimed individual medalist honors at the 2011 Tucson Regional, opening with a 7-under 64 en route to a two-stroke victory in his first collegiate win. He became UC Davis' first representative at the NCAA Finals during its five-year Div. I era.



In addition to the three team appearances, UC Davis has been represented for four straight years as Austin Graham advanced to a regional in 2010 as an individual, tying for 40th overall.

UC Davis used a strong final-round push to secure the team title at the Big West Championships on May 1 at the La Quinta Mountain Course in La Quinta, Calif. The Aggies took home their second-straight Big West title with a one-stroke victory over Long Beach State. Matt Seramin tied for fourth to lead the team as all five golfers placed in the top 20.

Stanford Golf Course (Stanford, Ariz.)
Hosted by Stanford

Participating Teams
(in order of seed)

1. Cal
2. Stanford
3. San Diego State
4. UCF
5. LSU
6. UAB
7. Wichita State
8. Tennessee
9. Oregon State
10. Southeastern Louisiana
11. San Francisco
12. San Jose State