Bishop Receives PING All-America Golf Honor

June 6, 2007

DAVIS, Calif. - Louie Bishop, who earned PING Division I All-Region honors from the Golf Coaches of Association last week, received further distinction from the organization on Wednesday when the UC Davis senior was selected All-America honorable mention, adding to his list of postseason honors that followed a standout 2006-07 season.

Bishop, who posted a school-record 70.7 average during the 2006-07 season, is the first Aggie to earn mention on the Division I All-America golf teams.

"Louie was so consistently excellent this year, it's great to see him rewarded with the highest honor in collegiate golf," said Aggie coach Cy Williams. "It's very fitting that Louie becomes the first Division I All-America golfer in the history of our program. He's set the standard that all of our future golfers can shoot to attain."

The postseason accolades have been significant for Bishop, who received the campus's W.P. Lindley Award for excellence in academics, athletics and community service last Saturday. He was also a national finalist for the Byron Nelson Award, earned Division I Independent Men's Golfer of the Year honors, and is on the ballot for ESPN The Magazine/CoSIDA Academic All-America accolades.

Bishop's honors follow one of the best seasons in school history in which he won two tournaments, finished second in another and posted six top-10 finishes in his nine completed tournaments. Additionally, he carded a dozen rounds below 70.

Ten players were honored on each of the All-America first, second and third teams. Twenty-nine golfers were named honorable mention.

Division I PING All-America Teams

First Team
Rhys Davies, East Tennessee State
Billy Horschel, Florida
Dustin Johnson, Coastal Carolina
Chris Kirk, Georgia
Niklas Lemke, Arizona state
Jamie Lovemark, Southern California
Kyle Stanley, Clemson
Daniel Summerhays, Brigham Young
Brendon Todd, Georgia
Dawie van der Walt, Lamar

Second Team
Benjamin Alvarado, Arizona State
Charlie Beljan, New Mexico
Jonas Blixt, Florida State
Joseph Bramlett, Stanford
Roberto Castro, Georgia Tech
Kevin Chappell, UCLA
Rob Grube, Stanford
Brian Harman, Georgia
Michael Thompson, Alabama
Cameron Tringale, Georgia Tech

Third Team
Bronson Burgoon, Texas A&M
Derek Fathauer, Louisville
Matt Harmon, Michigan State
Colt Knost, SMU
Lucas Lee, UCLA
Brian Locke, Loyola Marymount
Zack Miller, Stanford
Matthew Savage, Stanford
Joel Sjoholm, Georgia State
Martin Ureta, North Carolina

Honorable Mention
Victor Almstrom, Minnesota
Oliver Bekker, Lamar
Louie Bishop, UC Davis
Matt Bortis, Texas
George Bryan IV, South Carolina
Jon Curran, Vanderbilt
Andrew DiBitetto, Charlotte
Oscar Floren, Texas Tech
Charles Ford, Tennessee
Aaron Goldberg, San Diego State
Chesson Hadley, Georgia Tech
Jason Kokrak, Xavier
Bronson LaCassie, Minnesota
Andrew Landry, Arkansas
Trent Leon, Oklahoma State
Daniel Lim, Stanford
Michael Manning, Augusta State
Pablo Martin, Oklahoma State
Adam Mitchell, Georgia
Brett Myers, Tulsa
Corey Nagy, Charlotte
Lindsey Renolds, Coastal Carolina Matt Savage, Florida State
Michael Schachner, Duke
Gareth Shaw, East Tennessee State
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest
Tim Streng, Western Illinois
Zach Sucher, UAB
Jarred Texter, UNLV
Niall Turner, Minnesota
Mike Van Sickle, Marquette
Dan Woltman, Wisconsin