Corfee, Knight open at U.S. Amateur on Monday

Aug. 11, 2017

U.S. Amateur Homepage

DAVIS, Calif. - Recent UC Davis graduate Ben Corfee and current Aggie senior Evan Knight will compete in the 2017 U.S. Amateur Championship, held at Riviera Country Club in Pacific Palisades, California, from August 14-20. The tournament consists of two rounds of stroke play on Monday and Tuesday, then advances to a 64-person match play tournament beginning Wednesday.

Corfee tees off at 7:52 a.m. on the 10th hole alongside Joey Savoie and Turk Pettit. Knight is part of the afternoon wave, beginning his action at 1:28 p.m. on the 10th hole in a group with Sam Burns and Li Chen.

The match-play portion of the event will be televised and/or live streamed. Fox Sports One will carry the Round of 64, Round of 16 and quarterfinals. The USGA site will stream the Round of 32 and the August 20 morning session. Fox will carry the August 19 semifinal competition plus the afternoon 18 on August 20.

Corfee's appearance at the U.S. Amateur comes on the heels of his PGA Tour debut, as he qualified for the August 3-6 Barracuda Championship. The three-time All-Big West Conference honoree from El Macero stormed out of the gates with five birdies on the back nine at Montreux Golf & Country Club, finishing the first day at +7 in the event's Modified Stableford scoring format.

Knight, a managerial economics major from Novato, California, ranked second on the 2017 Aggies with a 73.13 scoring average. He enjoyed his best finish at the Wyoming Cowboy Classic in April, placing t12th due to his 4-under-par 212 total. Knight went on to capture All-Big West Conference honorable mention in his junior year.

Both Corfee and Knight qualified for the U.S. Amateur during a qualifying tournament at El Macero in mid-July. The two Aggies finished at 7-under 137 in the 36-hole qualifier. Another UC Davis player, senior Brandon Baumgarten, was the second alternate at 5-under 139.

The U.S. Amateur dates back to 1895 and is open to all amateurs with a handicap index of 2.4 or less. Past champions include the likes of Bobby Jones (1924, 1925, 1927, 1928, 1930), Jack Nicklaus (1959, 1961) and Tiger Woods (1994, 1995, 1996). Australian Curtis Luck won the 2016 event, held at Oakland Hills Country Club.