Fourteen Aggies Named Ashe Sports Scholars

April 12, 2013

A total of 14 UC Davis student-athletes from eight different sports were announced as Arthur Ashe, Jr. Sports Scholars for 2012-13 in this week's issue of Diverse: Issues In Higher Education. Senior gymnast Katie Yamamura was previously announced as a finalist for the Sports Scholar Award of the Year award in mid-March, an honor eventually won by West Virginia's Jessica Nicole Harlee.

Now co-sponsored by the NCAA, the Sports Scholar Award was created by Black Issues In Higher Education, now known as Diverse, to recognize undergraduate minority student-athletes who achieve academically, athletically and in the campus and community.

The women's gymnastics and women's swimming & diving teams, both champions of the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation this season, each posted three student-athletes on the Sports Scholar rolls. In addition to Yamamura, senior Michelle Ho and sophomore Cassandra Quebral were honored. From the swimming & diving team are junior Liliana Alvarez, sophomore Marilyn Carey and juinor Megan Leung.

Two other UC Davis teams had two recipients each. Junior Jessica Chuyla and senior Demi Runas represent women's golf while Andre Brown and Matt Sheldon won accolades on behalf of men's soccer.

Kathleen Brandl of women's soccer, Lauren Curry of women's tennis, Anthony Kaspar from football and Josh Granger of the Aggie men's golf team made the honor roll in their respective sports.

Both Sports Scholar of the Year winners came from basketball. WVU's Harlee won the women's award while Wisconsin guard Ryan Evans captured the men's award.

UC Davis recipients only.

Jessica Chulya - Women's Golf
Demi Runas - Women's Golf
Michelle Ho, Women's Gymnastics
Cassandra Quebral, Women's Gymnastics
Katie Yamamura, Women's Gymnastics
Kathleen Brandl - Women's Soccer
Liliana Alvarez - Women's Swimming & Diving
Marilyn Carey - Women's Swimming & Diving
Megan Leung - Women's Swimming & Diving
Lauren Curry - Women's Tennis
Anthony Kaspar, Football
Josh Granger - Men's Golf
Andre Brown - Men's Soccer
Matt Sheldon - Men's Soccer