Aggie Defender Among Nation's Best to Start Season

Senior defender Ramon Martin Del Campo
Aug. 27, 2014

Top Drawer Soccer Top 100 Players - Preseason

DAVIS, Calif. -- Building upon an already impressive preseason award haul, UC Davis senior defender Ramon Martin Del Campo was included on Top Drawer Soccer's preseason list of the nation's top 100 collegiate players announced on Wednesday.

In a ranking that will be updated on a weekly basis, Martin Del Campo was among five Big West Conference players selected to the list, joining CSUN duo Sagi Lev-Ari and Edwin Rivas, UC Irvine's Mario Ortiz, and UC Santa Barbara's Ismaila Jome. Both Jome, a sophomore midfielder, and Lev-Ari, a senior forward, are also included on the "watch list" for this year's Missouri Athletic Club Hermann Trophy awarded to the nation's top player.

The Chula Vista, California, native, who kicked off the month of August as a call-up with the United States U23 Men's National Team, was also one of 11 players named to the Big West Preseason All-Conference Team and was a first-team all-league selection according to College Sports Madness.

A member of the San Jose Earthquakes' Premier Development League squad over the summer, Martin Del Campo helped his side to a 7-4-3 record and a third-place finish in its inaugural season, voted to the All-PDL first team (best 11 players in the entire league), All-Western Conference first team, and was one of three finalists for the league's Young Player of the Year award.

Following their exhibition against Chico State last weekend, Martin Del Campo and the Aggies officially kick-off their 2014 campaign this weekend as one of four teams at the ninth-annual Bert and Iris Wolstein Classic in Columbus, Ohio.

UC Davis takes on host Ohio State on Friday (Aug. 29) at 4:30 p.m. PT, before facing Canisius College on Sunday morning (Aug. 31) at 9 a.m. PT. A tournament page has been established on the Buckeyes' web site at

Big West Conference players only

7. Sagi Lev-Ari, CSUN
34. Mario Ortiz, UC Irvine
58. Ismaila Jome, UC Santa Barbara
68. Edwin Rivas, CSUN
75. Ramon Martin Del Campo, UC DAVIS