Shaffer, Boateng headline Aggies' All-Big West honors

Oct. 31, 2017

DAVIS, Calif. -- UC Davis Head Coach Dwayne Shaffer was named the Big West Conference Coach of the Year and junior defender Roy Boateng was selected as the Defensive Player of the Year according to a vote of the league coaches, as the 2017 conference postseason awards and honor roll were officially announced on Tuesday afternoon.

All told, the Aggies grabbed a total of eight All-Big West honors as Boateng, senior Onah Power, and redshirt freshman Nabi Kibunguchy, were named to the first team, sophomore Adam Mickelson, senior Miguel Acevedo, and senior Greg Salazar, were second-team honorees, and seniors Noah Wilson and Lizandro Torres earned honorable mention honors. In addition, Kibunguchy was selected to the 11-member all-freshman team.

The three first-team honorees and the eight total award winners are the most since UC Davis joined the league, surpassing the two first-teamers in 2008 and the seven total in 2013. Meanwhile, Kibunguchy became only the fifth Aggie to be named to the all-freshman team, and the first since Boateng in 2015. Evan Barrett (2014), Acevedo (2014), and Dashiell MacNamara (2013), have also earned spots on the freshman honor roll since the league began that list in 2013.

Shaffer was named the league's top coach for the second time in his career, earning his first since leading UC Davis to a 12-5-3 overall record and an NCAA Tournament berth in the program's Division I debut. This season, Shaffer has earned both his 200th career Division I coaching win (versus Loyola Marymount) and 200th win as head coach at UC Davis (versus Sacramento State), while leading the Aggies to double-digit wins for the first time since 2012.

Boateng is the first UC Davis player to be named the Big West's Defensive Player of the Year and the fifth Aggie to earn a major award since Omar Zeenni was named the league's goalkeeper of the year in 2013. The managerial economics major from Rohnert Park, Calif., started all 19 matches and added a goal on the offensive end, but was most effective on the back line, spearheading a defense that has allowed a conference-low eight goals and a 0.78 goals against average in 10 Big West matches, to go along with five shutouts and the fourth-best goals against average (1.39) overall.

After earning honorable mention honors in each of the last two years -- and an all-freshman nod in 2015 -- Boateng picked up his first career first-team honor, joining first-time all-conference selections Kibunguchy and Power. After missing six games due to injury, Kibunguchy started 10 of his 13 contests, scoring his first career goal and adding an assist, while Power started 18 of 19 contests, scoring a goal and assisting on three others for five points.

Acevedo, who was an all-freshman team selection in 2014, Mickelson, and Salazar, all picked up their first all-conference awards as members of the second team. Mickelson led the Aggies with six assists and 14 points on the year to go along with four goals, with 13 of those 14 points coming in Big West play.

Acevedo set new career single-season high's with four goals and four assists to rank tied for second on the team in scoring with 12 points. Salazar, meanwhile, joined Boateng on that formidable back line, adding a goal and assist while starting all 19 contests.

Wilson, a two-time Big West All-Academic Team honoree, picked up his second consecutive All-Big West honor with his honorable mention nod, starting all 19 matches while scoring four goals and two assists to rank tied for fourth on the team in scoring. Torres, who earned his first career all-conference award, appeared in 19 matches, starting 12, while setting career high's with three goals and two assists for eight points.

UC Davis returns to action this weekend, hosting one of two Big West Tournament semifinal matches at Aggie Soccer Field on Saturday (Nov. 4) at 2 p.m., against the winner of Wednesday's opening round match between Sacramento State and CSUN in Northridge, Calif.

Tickets are on sale through the UC Davis athletic ticket office for Saturday's semifinal by visiting or by calling (530) 752-AGS1. Tickets are priced at $10 for adults, $8 for youth/seniors, and $2 for UC Davis students (with valid ID).

Offensive Player of the Year: Giovanni Godoy (UC Irvine)
Co-Midfielders of the Year: Ross McPhie (Cal State Fullerton) & Paul Geyer (Sacramento State)
Defensive Player of the Year: Roy Boateng (UC Davis)
Goalkeeper of the Year: Henrik Regitnig (CSUN)
Freshman of the Year: Rodney Michael (UC Santa Barbara)
Coach of the Year: Dwayne Shaffer (UC Davis)

Giovanny Godoy, Forward, UC Irvine
Emmanuel Usen, Jr., Forward, CSUN
Samuel Goni, Forward, Cal State Fullerton
Rodney Michael, Forward, UC Santa Barbara
Ross McPhie, Midfielder, Cal State Fullerton
Paul Geyer, Midfielder, Sacramento State
Nabi Kibunguchy, Midfielder, UC Davis
Onah Power, Midfielder, UC Davis
Roy Boateng, Defender, UC Davis
Darion Mealing, Defender, CSUN
Cylus Sandoval, Defender, Sacramento State
Corentin Ohlmann, Defender, Cal State Fullerton
Henrik Regitnig, Goalkeeper, CSUN

Adam Olsen, Forward, Cal Poly
Christian Webb, Forward, Sacramento State
Adam Mickelson, Forward, UC Davis
Miguel Acevedo, Midfielder, UC Davis
Daniel Crisostomo, Midfielder, UC Irvine
Andrew Rizeq, Midfielder, CSUN
Mario Ortiz, Midfielder, UC Irvine
Diego Sanchez, Midfielder, Cal State Fullerton
Greg Salazar, Defender, UC Davis
Randy Mendoza, Defender, UC Santa Barbara
Jose Soto, Defender, UC Irvine
James Del Curto, Goalkeeper, Sacramento State

Ivan Canales, Forward, UC Irvine
Noah Wilson, Forward, UC Davis
Lizandro Torres, Forward, UC Davis
Ricardo Ruiz, Midfielder, UC Riverside
Giovanni Aguilar, Midfielder, CSUN
Christian Enriquez, Midfielder, Cal Poly
Adrian Adames, Defender, UC Santa Barbara
Jumoke Hutton, Defender, CSUN
Tyler Savitsky, Defender, Cal Poly
Simon Boehme, Goalkeeper, Cal Poly
Paul-Andre Guerin, Goalkeeper, Cal State Fullerton

Rodney Michael, UC Santa Barbara
Nabi Kibunguchy, UC Davis
Daniel Trejo, CSUN
Justin Bedig, Sacramento State
Giovanni Aguilar, CSUN
Freeman Dwamena, Cal Poly
Alan Carrillo, UC Santa Barbara
Erick Gallinar, UC Irvine
Irving Arvizu, Cal State Fullerton
Daniel Aguirre, UC Riverside
Tyler Moss, Sacramento State

Providing a small-town community feel while providing a world-class academic experience, UC Davis is home to more than 37,000 students and centrally located between San Francisco, Lake Tahoe, and the Napa Valley. The No. 6-ranked public university in the nation according to the Wall Street Journal, and among the top 10 public universities nationwide according to U.S. News and World Report, UC Davis offers nearly 100 graduate programs and more than 100 academic majors across four colleges and six professional schools, ranking among the world and nation's best in numerous disciplines, including veterinary science, agriculture, and plant and animal programs.

Season tickets for UC Davis men's and women's basketball are now on sale by contacting the Athletics Ticket Office at (530) 752-AGS1 or by visiting us online at