Men's soccer lands six on All-Big West teams

Nov. 1, 2016

Complete All-Big West Conference Teams

DAVIS, Calif. -- A quartet of Aggies were named to the All-Big West second team, while two more earned all-conference honorable mention honors, highlighting the UC Davis men's soccer team's representation on the All-Big West Conference honor roll for the 2016 as selected by the head coaches and released by the league office on Tuesday morning.

Senior Dashiell MacNamara, juniors Noah Wilson and Kyle Higgins, along with sophomore Kristian Heptner, were all named to the second team -- the latter three earning their first career all-conference honors -- while junior Evan Barrett and sophomore Roy Boateng took home honorable mention honors.

The six selections were the most since UC Davis had eight honorees following the 2014 regular season when they place three on the second team, three on the honorable mention squad, and two more on the all-freshman team.

The Aggies' top three scorers each earned a spot on the second team, combining for 16 of the team's 25 goals on the year. Wilson, the reigning Big West Offensive Player of the Week, led the way for UC Davis with six goals and 15 points, while Higgins and Heptner each scored five times.

On the other side of the ball, MacNamara helped anchor a defense that was among the stingiest in the Big West, tying for second at the end of the regular season in fewest goals allowed (23) and goals against average (1.18), while sharing the league lead with six shutouts. Offensively, MacNamara, who was an all-freshman team selection in 2013, also finished with a goal and two assists to tie for fifth on the team.

Barrett and Boateng, a pair of all-freshman team honorees in 2014 and 2015, respectively, each picked up an all-conference nod in 2016. Barrett finished fourth on the team in scoring with a pair of goals and two assists, while Boateng was often tasked to mark the opposing team's top scorer, finishing with 11 shots and putting five on frame.

UC Davis opens play in the Big West Conference Tournament with a first-round contest at two-time defending tournament champion Cal State Fullerton on Saturday (Nov. 5) at 7 p.m.