Montana Returns To Claim 4-3 Men's Tennis Victory

April 1, 2010

DAVIS, Calif. - UC Davis was defeated by Montana, 4-3, in a non-conference men's tennis match suspended by rain Wednesday and completed Thursday at the Marya Welch Tennis Center. UC Davis led the match, 3-2, when play resumed on Thursday. The Grizzlies then finished off a pair of three-set victories to claim the win.

The match was close from the start as the doubles point wasn't determined until the final contest. The two teams split matches at No. 2 and No. 3. The Grizzlies won the first match to finish at No. 2 before the Aggies' Nic Amaroli and Tyler Lee prevailed at No. 3 to even doubles. It came down to No. 1 where Hunter Lee and Nick Lopez teamed to defeat Carl Kuschke and Josh Smith, 8-6.

Trailing 1-0 heading to singles, Montana (5-5) evened the score with a win at No. 3 to make it 1-1. The next two matches to finish went to the Aggies. Amaroli defeated David Cysneiros at No. 6, 6-2, 7-6 (5). Moments later, Toki Sherbakov completed a 7-6 (4), 7-5 victory over Mikolaj Borkowski at No. 2 to put the Aggies up 3-1.

At No. 4, Montana's Josh Smith fought off a comeback bid by Tyler Lee with a 6-3, 4-6, 6-3 win. That pulled the Grizzlies within 3-2.

The last two matches were on court 1 and court 5. Both went to a third set ended up being suspended when the rain came in.

When play resumed Thursday afternoon, the match at No. 1 was the first to finish. Lopez won the first set on Thursday before Kuschke claimed the second and led 4-2 in the third. The Grizzly took a 5-2 lead to start play on Thursday and ended up defeating Lopez, 3-6, 7-5, 6-4.



That tied the match at 3-3 with Hunter Lee and Michael Facey tied at 3-3 in the third set of their match at No. 5. Facey went on to defeat Lee, 7-5, 6-7, 6-4.

The loss drops UC Davis to 5-9 on year. The Aggies are next in action Saturday when they host Sonoma State at 1:30 p.m.

Montana 4, UC Davis 3
March 31, 2010
Marya Welch Tennis Center (Davis, Calif.)

1. Carl Kuschke (UM) d. Nick Lopez (UCD), 3-6, 7-5, 6-4.
2. Toki Sherbakov (UCD) d. Mikolaj Borkowski (UM), 7-6, 7-5.
3. Raydner Ramos (UM) d. Chris Aria (UCD), 7-5, 6-4.
4. Josh Smith (UM) d. Tyler Lee (UCD), 6-3, 4-6, 6-3.
5. Michael Facey (UM) d. Hunter Lee (UCD), 7-5, 6-7, 6-4.
6. Nic Amaroli (UCD) d. David Cysneiros (UM), 6-2, 7-6 (5).

1. H. Lee/Lopez (UCD) d. Kuschke/Smith (UM), 8-6.
2. Timo Gehrke/Ramos (UM) d. Connor Coates /Sherbakov (UCD), 8-5.
3. Amaroli/T. Lee (UCD) d. Borkowski/Cysneiros (UM), 8-0.