Aggies Earn Berths in Five Tournament Finals

Mitch Thorp captured the Aggies' first event championship at this year's UCSB Classic.

Oct. 12, 2013


SANTA BARBARA, Calif. - When UC Davis returns to action Sunday at the UCSB Classic, the team will have an opportunity to return home with three main draw and two consolation championships based on the success earned by the Aggies throughout Saturday's play.

By defeating UCSB's Andrew Riminton by matching 6-1 set scores, and Cal's Wyatt Houghton 6-2, 6-3, Alec Adamson earned a berth in the Flight A's singles championship against another Cal opponent in Nikhil Jayashankar.

That match is the first of two opportunities for Adamson to capture a tournament title as he will also take the court with partner Adam Levie in Flight A's doubles final against Chase Melton and Wyatt Houghton - another pair of Golden Bears. 

Wins against Cal's Jordan Smith and teammate Bryce McKelvie propelled Brett Bacharach to Flight B's singles championships, both victories were earned in straight-set style by respective 7-5, 6-2 and 7-5, 2-0 scores.

Bacharach will go head-to-head against Santa Barbara's Sasha Gryaznov in the championship match.

Paired with doubles partner James Wade, Bacharach will also have an opportunity to leave Santa Barbara with a consolation championship in Flight A action. The duo will square off against another Ziad Sultan and Tobias Galskov, two Gauchos competing on their home surface.

Another Aggie doubles duo in action Sunday is McKelvie and Adam Luba. By defeating UCLA's Ryoto Tachi and Nishanth Yamani, 8-6, the two will now face Northern Arizona's Fabio Tomasetti and Nester Black with Flight B's consolation title at stake.

UC Davis ended Saturday's competition with one singles consolation championship; by defeating Levie 6-4, 7-5, Mitch Thorp ended his singles run atop Flight C's consolation bracket.


UCSB Classic

Oct. 11-13, 2013

Hosted by UC Santa Barbara at three locations on campus

Day Two Results (UC Davis only)

A Flight Singles
Horea Porutiu (UCSD) def. Kyle Miller (UCD) 6-4, 2-6, 6-1
Alex Locci (NAU) def. Kyle Miller (UCD) 7-5, 6-4
Tobias Galskov (UCSB) def. Parker Kelley (UCD) 6-2, 6-0
Rajeev Herekar (UCSD) def. Parker Kelley (UCD) 6-3, 6-4
Alec Adamson (UCD) def. Andrew Riminton (UCSB) Set scores unavailable
Alec Adamson (UCD) def. Wyatt Houghton (CAL) 7-6, 6-2
James Wade (UCD) def. Luke Bohuslav (LMU) 7-6, 6-3
Nikhil Jayashankar (CAL) def. James Wade (UCD) 2-6, 7-6, 6-2

B Flight Singles
Bryce McKelvie (UCD) def. Kona Luu (UCSD) 6-1, 6-4
Adam Luba (UCD) def. Max Dutreix (UCSD), 7-5, 7-5
Andrew Maloszak (UCSD) def. Adam Luba (UCD) 7-6, 2-6, 2-1 (Ret.)
Brett Bacharach (UCD) def. Jordan Smith (CAL) 6-3, 6-4
Brett Bacharach (UCD) def. Bryce McKelvie (UCD) 7-5, 2-0 (Ret.)

C Flight Singles
Mitch Thorp (UCD) advances via bye
Adam Levie (UCD) def. Yamani (UCLA) 6-1, 6-1
Mitch Thorp (UCD) def. Adam Levie (UCD) 6-4, 7-5

A Flight Doubles
Brett Bacharach/James Wade (UCD) def. Andrew Riminton/Teague Hamilton (UCSB) 8-4
Adam Levie/Alec Adamson (UCD) def. Jack Sanford/Nikhil Jayashankar (CAL) Set score unavailable

B Flight Doubles
Bryce McKelvie/Adam Luba (UCD) def. Ryoto Tachi/Nishanth Yamani (UCLA) 8-6
Fabio Tomasetti/Nester Black (NAU) def. Kyle Miller/Parker Kelley (UCD) 8-3