Men's Tennis Complete Second Day Action at ITA Regional

Mitch Thorp paired with Adam Luba for a consolation doubles victory.

Oct. 20, 2012

Complete Results

MORAGA, Calif. - Adam Luba and Mitch Thorp paired up for a consolation doubles victory on Saturday and will advance to Sunday's second round as the UC Davis men's tennis team completed second day action at the USTA/ITA Northwest Regional in Moraga.

Luba and Thorp cruised to an 8-1 victory over Stanford's Fawaz Hourani and Sam Ecker and will play in the second round of the consolation doubles bracket on Sunday.

Adam Levie and Toki Sherbakov defeated their first round doubles opponent, claiming an 8-2 victory over Germaine Bahri and Richard Bucalem of San Francisco. In the round of 32, however, they were edged by Jesse Kiuru and Joakim Norstrom of Saint Mary's 8-6.

In singles action, four Aggies advanced to the first round of the consolation bracket. Thorp took Eastern Washington's Eduardo Bringold to three sets, winning the first 6-2 before dropping the second 6-0. Bringold then claimed the tiebreaker to top Thorp.

Hugo Verdi-Fortin fell in similar fashion to Sacramento State's Roy Brandya, taking the first set by a 6-4 margin before dropping set two 6-3. Brandya then took the tiebreaker 1-0(7) for the three-set win.

Moraga, Calif.
UC Davis results only

Consolation Singles - 1st Round
Eduardo Bringold (EWU) def. Mitch Thorp (UCD), 2-6, 6-0, 1-0(6)
Roy Brandya (SAC) def. Hugo Verdi-Fortin (UCD), 4-6, 6-3, 1-0(7)
Ben Mirkin (PAC) def. George Horowitz (UCD), 6-4, 6-2
Tom Miller (SAC) def. Adam Luba (UCD), 6-0, 6-4



Doubles - Round of 64
Adam Levie-Toki Sherbakov (UCD) def. Germaine Bahri-Richard Bucalem (USF), 8-2
Thai Tu-Will Schumacher (USF) def. Brett Bacharach-George Horowitz (UCD), 8-6
Daniel Ho-James Bell (STAN) def. Alec Haley-Kyle Miller (UCD), 8-6
Jeff Hawke-Viktor Farkas (UW) def. Adam Luba-Mitch Thorp (UCD), 9-8(3)

Doubles - Round of 32
Jesse Kiuru-Joakim Norstrom (SMC) def. Adam Levie-Toki Sherbakov (UCD), 8-6

Consolation Doubles - Round 1
Seif Elsherbini-Thomas Hunt (SMC) def. Brett Bacharach-George Horowitz (UCD), 8-6
Adam Luba-Mitch Thorp (UCD) def. Fawaz Hourani-Sam Ecker (STAN), 8-1