Men's Tennis to Face Pacific in Big West Tourney

Kyle Miller and the Aggies will meet Pacific in the first round of the Big West Men's Tennis Championships.

April 22, 2013

DAVIS, Calif. - The No. 6 seeded UC Davis men's tennis team will meet No. 3 seed Pacific in the first round of the Big West Men's Tennis Championships at 8 a.m. on Thursday morning at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden.

The Aggies (8-12, 1-5 Big West) finished their season with wins over Loyola Marymount and UC Riverside last weekend before falling to co-league champion UC Irvine, 4-3, on Sunday in the regular season finale.

Junior Kyle Miller comes into the tournament on a three-match winning streak at No. 2 singles while fellow junior Parker Kelley has won two straight singles matches. Kelley and partner Brett Bacharach have won two straight matches in doubles competition as well.

If the Aggies take down the Tigers in the first round, they will meet the Cal Poly/UC Riverside winner at 3 p.m. in the semifinals on Friday. The championship match is scheduled for 9 a.m. on Sunday.

UC Davis lost, 5-2, to Pacific but the two teams met back on Jan. 26 in the Aggies' first league match of the year. Miller won at No. 2 singles, 3-6, 6-1, 6-3, over Ben Mirkin and UC Davis also claimed the doubles point in the loss. The Aggies had a chance to win the match as they took two other singles matches to third sets, but dropped them both.

Both UC Irvine and Cal Poly finished 5-1 in Big West play this year, but the Anteaters were given the tiebreaker based on a head-to-head 4-3 win over the Mustangs. Cal Poly's lone loss was to UC Irvine while UC Irvine's only league loss was at Hawai'i. 

Fans can visit the Big West's TOURNAMENT CENTRAL page for more information and follow along with all the matches on twitter @BigWest_MTennis. The hashtag #BWTMTEN will also be used.



2013 Big West Men's Tennis Championship
April 25-28, 2013
Indian Wells, Calif. (Indian Wells Tennis Garden)

First Round (April 25)

No. 2 Cal Poly vs. No. 7 UC Riverside - 8 a.m.
No. 3 Pacific vs. No. 6 UC Davis - 8 a.m.
No. 4 Hawai'i vs. No. 5 UC Santa Barbara - 8 a.m.

Semifinals (April 26)

No. 1 UC Irvine vs. No. 4/No. 5 Winner - 3 p.m.
No. 2/No. 7 Winner vs. No. 3/No. 6 Winner - 3 p.m.

Championship (April 28)

Semifinal winners - 9 a.m.