Three Aggies Named to ITA Academic Honor Roll

Aug. 1, 2017

Complete ITA All-Academic Honors List

DAVIS, Calif. -- The UC Davis trio of Eli Whittle, Tommy Lam, and Max Pham, were singled out for their individual efforts in the classroom, while the Aggies were among 302 Division I programs honored for their work off the court, as the Intercollegiate Tennis Association released its 2017 All-Academic Awards this week.

UC Davis earned team honors for the third time in the program's Division I history, but the first since the 2009 season. The Aggies also earned team honors in 2008.

Whittle, a mangerial economics major, was honored for the third time in his UC Davis career, while Lam, an economics major, earned his second ITA academic award. Pham, an economics major who completed his first season with the Aggies in 2017, took home his first career award.

Whittle and Lam were also selected to the Big West Conference All-Academic Team earlier this year, while the team was one of four UC Davis programs to earn an NCAA Public Recognition Award for outstanding academic achievement after their recent multiyear Academic Progress Rate ranked among the top 10 percent in their sport across the nation with a perfect score of 1,000.

In all, the Aggies have had 21 different student-athletes earn a total of 36 ITA academic awards since 1982, while Lam becomes the 10th different UC Davis men's tennis player to earn multiple awards from the ITA in their careers -- including alumni Daniel Elefant and Henri Landes, who were four-time honorees from 2005-08.

To be eligible, each student-athlete must be a varsity letter winner, have a grade point average of at least 3.50 for the current academic year, and have been enrolled at their institution for at least two semesters. Meanwhile, the ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale).

2017 - UC Davis
2009 - UC Davis
2008 - UC Davis

2017 - Eli Whittle, Tommy Lam, Max Pham
2016 - Eli Whittle, Brett Bacharach, Tommy Lam
2015 - Eli Whittle
2012 - Alec Haley, Toki Sherbakov
2011 - Nick Lopez, Toki Sherbakov
2009 - Nic Amaroli, Hunter Lee, Tyler Lee, Kevin Liang, Nick Lopez
2008 - Daniel Elefant, Henri Landes
2007 - Kevin Liang, Daniel Elefant, Henri Landes
2006 - Jordan Combs, Daniel Elefant, Henri Landes, Taylor Matsumoto
2005 - Jordan Combs, Daniel Elefant, Henri Landes
2004 - Ross Barasch, Robert Wong
2003 - Paul Dilloway, Greg Lee
2002 - Paul Dilloway, Greg Lee
1984 - Willen Vanderwerf
1982 - Beau Toy