Doten, Wright Honored By USA Water Polo

Jan. 28, 2004

ST. LOUIS, Mo. - Untitled Document

UC Davis head coaches Jamey Wright and Steve Doten were selected as 2003 Elite Award recipients for the Central California Zone in women's and men's water polo, respectively, by the USA Water Polo Coaches Committee. The awards were presented at the USWP annual meeting at the Airport Marriott in St. Louis on January 14.

Wright enters his 20th season as the Aggies' head women's coach while Doten recently finished his third year as the head men's coach.

Last fall, Doten's team posted a 14-16 record and placed fourth in the Western Water Polo Association tournament, the program's highest conference finish since 1997. The Aggie men ranked 17th in the final national poll, reaching as high as No. 12 during the year.

Last spring, Wright's UC Davis women's team recorded its fifth straight 20-win season and its sixth in the seven years since reaching varsity status in 1997. The Aggies went 20-11, took third in the WWPA tournament, and finished 15th in the final national rankings.

USWP bestows Elite Awards for coaches of collegiate teams and 18-and-over clubs, and Developmental Awards for coaches of high school and junior club programs. Awards are given to both men's and women's coaches for each division in 10 different zones nationwide.

Also honored at the annual meeting are recipients of the President's Cup,presented to the most successful club; and individual winners for National Coach of the Year, Development Coach of the Year, Volunteer Coach of the Year, Referee of the Year and male and female Athlete of the Year.

President's Cup - San Diego Shores
National Coach of the Year - Mike Schofield, U.S. Naval Academy
Development Coach of the Year - Jeff Wimer, Northern Illinois
Volunteer Coach of the Year - Los Angeles Water Polo Club
Referee of the Year - Jim Cullingham
Volunteer of the Year - Claudio Bozzo
Male Athlete of the Year - Wolf Wigo, Stanford/New York AC/Ethnikos Piraeus
Female Athlete of the Year - Ellen Estes, Stanford.

Southwest Zone - Dave Lee, Rice University (women), Joe Linehan, Houston (men); Northeast Zone - Todd Clapper, Brown University (women), Mike Schofield, Navy AC (men); Serela Kay, Princeton U. (women), Pacific Northwest & Hawaii Zone - Ken Smith, Hawaiian Water Polo (women), Jim McMaster, Chehalem Water Polo (men); Pacific Southwest Zone - Jim McNees, Poway Valley (women), Doug Peabody, San Diego Shores (men); Midwest Zone - Matt Anderson, Great Lakes/Michigan (women), Dave Miller, Gators Water Polo (men); Mountain Zone - Rodd Parker, Arizona State (women), A.J. Baucum, University of Utah (men); Central California Zone - Jamey Wright, UC Davis (women), Steve Doten, UC Davis (men); Coastal California Zone - Adam Krikorian, UCLA/Bruin (women), Rich Corso, Harvard-Westlake/Los Angeles (men); Southern Pacific Zone - Tom Whittemore, Redlands (women), Greg Salvinski, CHAWP (men); Pacific Zone - Lou Tully, San Jose Splash/State (women), Bruce Watson, West Valley WP/West Valley College (men); Southeast Zone - Alex Bennett, Zone Youth/Gulliver Prep/Florida Coast (women), Paul Becskehazy, Miami Beach HS/Florida Int'l/SE Zone Team (men).

Southwest Zone - Brad Schurdell, Wolf/Houston/Westside HS (women), Mihai Oprea, Dallas WP/St. Marks HS (men); Northeast Zone - Bob DeConinck, Loomis Chaffee/Zone Youth (women), Terry Lowe, Greenwich HS/Greenwich WP (men); Fiona Pixley, Greenwich WP (women), Pacific Northwest & Hawaii Zone - Mike Wallen, Tsunami WP (women), Mike Hoehne, Anuenue WP (men); Pacific Southwest Zone - Dave Throop, Coronado Peninsula (women), James Hamilton, CBAD WP (men); Midwest Zone - Jeff Wimer, Northern Illinois WP/Stevenson HS (women), Mark Menis, West Suburban WP (men); Mountain Zone - Robbie Bova, Albuquerque WP (women), Bill Loffswold, East Valley Aquatics (men); Central California Zone - Rafael Ruano, American River WP (women), Scott Weimer, Merced WP (men); Coastal California Zone - Gabriel Martinez, Commerce WP (women), Bobby Contreras, Commerce WP (men); Southern Pacific Zone - Jason Gall, CHAWP (women), Jim Sprague, Servite HS (men); Pacific Zone - Kim Everist, Golden Bear WP (women), Marcelo Adas, Soquel Wax-Em/Soquel HS (men); Southeast Zone - Carol Vaughn, Riptides (women), Istvan Csendes, Ft. Lauderdale WP/SE Zone Youth Team (men).