UC Davis Awarded Top Seed At WWPA Championship

Senior Bernie Rogers scored 13 total goals in the Aggies' five WWPA wins this season.
(Wayne Tilcock, Davis Enterprise)

Nov. 12, 2013

Tournament Central | Tickets

DAVIS, Calif. - By virtue of its 5-0 conference record and outright first-place finish, 12th-ranked UC Davis men's water polo has earned the top seed in the Western Water Polo Association men's championship, it was announced by the league office on Tuesday.

The WWPA tournament takes place on November 22-24 at Schaal Aquatics Center. Tickets are available online at tickets.ucdavis.edu, at the UC Davis Ticket Office located at Aggie Stadium, or by calling 530/752-AGS1 (2471). Both all-session and single-day options are available, with discounts for youth/student tickets.

UC San Diego, ranked 10th in the November 6 national coaches' poll, earned the No. 2 seed with a 4-1 WWPA record. Both the Aggies and Tritons have a first-round bye into the Saturday semifinal contests. UC Davis will face the lower-seeded of Friday's advancing teams at 12:15 p.m..

The remaining third through sixth seeds are Santa Clara (3-2), Loyola Marymount (2-3), Air Force (1-4) and new member Cal Baptist (0-5). Each conference team appeared in last Wednesday's national rankings: the Broncos at No. 16, the Lions at No. 14, the Falcons receiving votes and the Lancers at No. 20. LMU will square off with Air Force in Friday's early contest at 12:15 p.m., then SCU and CBU face each other in the 2 p.m. quarterfinal.

UC Davis began official conference play with a 13-3 win over Cal Baptist at Santa Clara's Rodeo tournament back on Oct. 26. The Aggies then scored a 12-10 victory at LMU on Nov. 1, followed by a 12-11 sudden victory less than 24 hours later at UCSD. The team returned home to dispatch Santa Clara (11-4) and Air Force (13-7) at home last weekend. UC Davis has also defeated its leaguemates in four previous meetings in tournament play: CBU and Air Force at the Triton Invitational on Sept. 7, Santa Clara at the NorCal Invite on Sept. 21, and UCSD at the UC Irvine Invitational on Oct. 12.



This is the first season of a six-team WWPA. The conference previously included members of the Division III Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference, both those teams separated into their own championship this year. Air Force upset top-seed UC San Diego in last year's championship.

The Aggies have reached the WWPA title contest three times in the past six years, losing by a single goal in 2007 and 2011. They won back-to-back conference titles in 1996 and 1997.

The WWPA champion earns the league's automatic berth in the National Collegiate Championship, held at Stanford's Avery Aquatic Center on Dec. 7-8.

Hosted by UC Davis • Schaal Aquatics Center

Game 1: No. 4 Loyola Marymount vs. No. 5 Air Force, 12:15 p.m.
Game 2: No. 3 Santa Clara vs. No. 6 Cal Baptist, 2 p.m.

Game 3: No. 1 UC Davis vs. lowest-seeded advancing team, 12:15 p.m.
Game 4: No. 2 UC San Diego vs. highest-seeded advancing team, 2 p.m.

Game 5: Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2, 10:30 p.m. (Fifth Place)
Game 6: Loser Game 3 vs. Loser Game 4, 12:15 p.m. (Third Place)
Game 7: Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 4, 2 p.m. (Championship)

The WWPA champion earns the conference's automatic qualifier to the National Collegiate Championship, hosted at Stanford's Avery Aquatic Center on Dec. 7-8.