Seven Aggies Still Remain After Day One Of Pac-10 Championships

Ken Cook had a technical fall and two major decisions as one of three Aggies to advance to championship matches. (Randy Martin)
Ken Cook had a technical fall and two major decisions as one of three Aggies to advance to championship matches. (Randy Martin)

Feb. 24, 2007

BAKERSFIELD, Calif. - Ken Cook, Derek Moore and Dustin Noack all advanced to the finals in their respective weight divisions and four more Aggie wrestlers earned the right to compete for a third-place finish during the first day of the 2007 Pacific-10 Championships at the Icardo Center on the campus of Cal Sate Bakersfield on Saturday.

UC Davis is currently second overall with 74.5 points, which puts them within striking distance of front-runner Oregon State's 92 points.

Fourth-ranked Cook had the most dominate first day as the only Aggie to wrestle three times without a first round bye. Despite the extra match, Cook rolled his way to the finals with a major decision over Bakersfield's Garth Wara (15-2); a technical fall over Arizona State's Rick Renzi and another major decision over Luke Feist of Stanford (14-2). He will wrestle Jeremy Larson of Oregon State tomorrow in the championship match for the second straight year. These two wrestlers met in the championship match last season with Cook prevailing.

After sitting out the last month with an injury, third-ranked Moore continued were he left off as he rolled to the finals of the 141-pound division with a pin of Matt Kim of Stanford in 2:28 and a 9-2 decision over Bakersfield's Matt Schumm. He will meet Oregon's Justin Pearch in tomorrow's championships match.

Noack is the third Aggie still alive for a championship as he adavanced to the 165-pound division championship with a pin over Jack McCoy of Oregon in 3:56 and a major decision over Johnny Nunez of Boise State. He faces top-ranked Patrick Piach of Arizona State in tomorrow's championship.

Marcos Orozco at 125, Omar Gaitan at 133, Shawn Haratani at 149 and Eliot Kelly at 197 all earned at least one victory on the first day to stave off elimination and continue to stay in continue to earn a top-three finish.



Both Orozco and Gaitan won their first matches before dropping to the consolation brackets with losses in their second match. Orozco faces Brandon Zoetewey of Cal State Bakersfield for a chance to advance to the third-place match. Gaitans faces Joey Lucas of Oregon for a shot at the third-place match.

Kelly dropped his first match of the day, but rebounded with a 16-0 technical fall and a default win to stay alive. Kelly can advance to the third-place match with a win over Jason Trulson of Arizona State.

Haratani also rebounded from an opening loss with victory by fall that keeps him alive for an NCAA birth. Haratani faces Jimmy McLaughlin of Oregon tomorrow for a chance to advance to the third-place match.

With three wrestlers already guaranteed a spot at the NCAA Championships, the Aggies have a chance to make history as they have never qualified more than four wrestlers for nationals.

Tomorrow's action begins with consolation and 5th-place matches at 11 a.m. while the finals and third-place matches will take place at 6 p.m.

Pacific-10 Championships, Day One
(UC Davis Only)

Marcos Orozco (125) -won dec. Ryan Dunn (ORE), 8-7; lost dec. to Tanner Gardner (CSF), 6-3.

Omar Gaitan (133) - won dec. Thomas Kimbrell (CSB), 9-3; lost dec. Bobby Pfennings (OSU), 4-3.

Derek Moore (141) - pinned Matt Kim (STAN), 2:28; won dec. Matt Schumm (CSB), 9-4.

Shawn Haratani (149) - lost dec. Derek Kipperberg (OSU), 8-3; pinned Joe Vanaman (PSU), 4:22.

Jon Clark (157) - lost dec. Tyler Sherfey (BSU), 5-0; lost dec. Keegan Davis (OSU) 3-2.

Dustin Noack (165) - won fall Jack McCoy (ORE), 3:56; won maj. dec. Johnny Nunez (15-3).

Ken Cook (174) - won maj. dec. Garth Wara (CSB), 15-2; won tech. fall Rick Renzi (ASU), 18-3; won maj. dec. Luke Feist (STAN), 14-2.

Jeff Prentice (184) - lost dec. Yuri Kalika, 10-4; lost dec. Kyle Bressler (OSU), 2-0.

Eliot Kelly (197) - lost fall Travis Gardner (OSU), 5:11; won tech. fall Keena Washington (PSU), 16-0; won default Matt Casperson (BSU).

Broc Maffia (285) - lost dec. Ty Watterson (OSU), 4-1; lost maj. dec. Wade Sauer (CSF), 11-3.

More Headlines

  • Wrestling | 03/31/2010
    McBryde Receives Pac-10 All-Academic Honors

    UC Davis sophomore Rory McBryde was named to the 2010 Pacific-10 Conference Wrestling All-Academic First Team, it was announced today by Pac-10 Commissioner Larry Scott. MORE

  • Wrestling | 03/17/2010
    Low, Abel, Alcala Head to NCAA Championships

    UC Davis (3-12, 1-6 Pac-10) will send Brandon Low, Barrett Abel and Ricky Alcala to the 2010 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships. The three-day tournament will be held at the Qwest Center Omaha in Omaha, Neb. MORE

  • Wrestling | 03/10/2010
    NCAA Announces Wrestling Championship Brackets

    The brakcets for the 2010 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships have been released, it was announced Wednesday. Barrett Abel, Brandon Low and Ricky Alcala will represent UC Davis as all three automatically qualified after successful weekends at the Pac-10 Wrestling Championships Feb. 27. MORE

  • Wrestling | 02/27/2010
    Abel Wins Pac-10 Title, Low Second

    Barrett Abel won UC Davis' first Pac-10 individual title since 2007 after earning a 12-9 decision over Cal Poly's Nick Fisher at 149 pounds Saturday at the 2010 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships in Davis, Calif. MORE

  • Wrestling | 02/26/2010
    Low, Abel Advance to Pac-10 Finals

    Brandon Low earned a comeback victory at 133 while Barrett Abel won by a 5-3 decision at 149 Friday to advance to the finals of the 2010 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships at The Pavilion in Davis, Calif. MORE

  • Wrestling | 02/25/2010
    Pac-10 Conference Announces Seeding for Champio...

    The Pacific-10 Conference has released the seeding bracket for the 2010 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships, it was announced Friday. UC Davis is led by junior Brandon Low who is the No. 1 seed at 133 pounds and junior Barrett Abel who is seeded second at 149 pounds. Ricky Alcala is the fourth seed ... MORE

  • Wrestling | 02/24/2010
    UC Davis Prepares for Pac-10 Championships

    UC Davis (3-12, 1-6 Pac-10) prepares to compete in the 2010 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships Feb. 26-27, which it will also host. The two-day tournament will begin Friday, Feb. 26 at noon with the first session and will continue into Saturday., Feb. 27. The Pac-10 Wrestling Championship Finals will... MORE

  • Wrestling | 02/12/2010
    Cal Poly Beats UC Davis 34-7 In Pac-10 Matchup

    Fifteenth-ranked Brandon Low and No. 16 Ricky Alcala each picked up victories for UC Davis on Friday night but No. 16 Cal Poly posted wins in the remaining eight matches on its way to a 34-7 Pac-10 wrestling match at Mott Gym. MORE