Moore Wins 141-Pound Championship As Aggies Finish Third At Pac-10 Championships

Derek Moore became the first Aggie to win back-to-back Pac-10 championships on Sunday night at the Icardo Center.  (Wayne Tilcock, <I>Davis Enterprise</i)
Derek Moore became the first Aggie to win back-to-back Pac-10 championships on Sunday night at the Icardo Center. (Wayne Tilcock, Davis Enterprise  

Feb. 25, 2007

BAKERSFIELD, Calif. - Derek Moore won his second consecutive 141-pound Pacific-10 championship and a school-record total of seven Aggies placed to help the UC Davis wrestling team finish a program-best third overall with 96.5 points on the final day of the Pac-10 Championships at the Icardo Center on the campus of Cal State Bakersfield.

UC Davis had a total of five wrestlers earn bids to the NCAA Championships, which is the most ever in the history of the program.

Oregon State won the overall title with 110 points while tournament host Cal State Bakersfield was second with 105 points.

Third-ranked and No. 1 seed Moore became the first Aggie ever to repeat as Pac-10 champion as he claimed the title at 141 pounds with his 4-1 decision over second-seeded Justin Pearch of Oregon. Moore is now 18-0 on the season and earns the right to compete in his fourth consecutive NCAA championships.

Marcos Orozco at 125 pounds and Omar Gaitan at 133 pounds rebounded from opening-day losses to grab third-place honors with two wins apiece.

Orozco defeated Bakersfield's Brandon Zoetewey 10-4 in the opening bout of the day before defeating John Esiponza of Arizona State, 8-6, in the third-place match. Orozco entered the tournament ranked fifth in the Pac-10 and will compete in his first NCAA Championships.

Gaitan claimed a major decision over Joey Lucas of Oregon in his opening match and then earned a 5-1 decision over T.J. Dillashaw of Cal State Fullerton to place third. Gaitan, who was the third-seeded wrestler at 133 pounds, earns his second straight NCAA bid.

Dustin Noack and Ken Cook both placed second in their respective weight classes with tough losses in the championship bouts. Noack was defeated by the top-ranked 165-pound wrestler, 3-2, while Cook was upset by the No. 2 seed from Oregon State. Noack will enter his first NCAA Championships while Cook makes his second consecutive trip.



Shawn Haratani just missed his first NCAA berth with a fourth-place showing at the 149-pound division. He earned the right to compete in the third-place match with a win by injury default in his opening match. Haratani was sixth in the final Pac-10 standings.

Eliot Kelly was the only other Aggie still alive on the final day of the competition. After an opening loss to the eventual third-place finsher, Kelly ended his collegiate career with a 3-1 decision in the fifth-place match over John Drake of Cal State Fullerton.

The Aggies will cap the season at the NCAA Championships, which take place March 15-17.

Pacific-10 Championships (Final Day)
Icardo Center, Cal State Bakersfield

Marcos Orozco (125) - won dec. No. 6 Brandon Zoetewey (CSB), 10-4; won dec. No. 3 John Espinoza (ASU), 8-6. (3rd-place)

Omar Gaitan (133) - won maj. dec. No. 4 Joey Lucas (ORE), 18-5; won dec. No. 5 T. J. Dillashaw (CSF), 5-1. (3rd-place)

Derek Moore (141) - won dec. No. 2 Justin Pearch (ORE), 4-1. (Championship)

Shawn Haratani (149) - won inj. def. No. 5 Cam Jones (BSU): lost dec.. No. 2 Brandon Doyle (CSB), 13-6. (3rd-place)

Dustin Noack (165) - lost dec. No. 1 Patrick Pitsch (ASU), 3-2. (Championship)

Ken Cook (174) - lost dec. No. 2 Jeremy Larson (OSU), 8-4 (Championship).

Eliot Kelly (197) - lost dec. No. 3 Jason Trulson (ASU), 6-2; won dec. No. 6 John Drake (CSF), 3-1 (5th place).