Low, Abel Advance to Pac-10 Finals

Brandon Low in action vs. Boise State's Ben DeMuelle.
Brandon Low in action vs. Boise State's Ben DeMuelle.

Feb. 26, 2010

Complete Day One Bracket in PDF Format

DAVIS, Calif. - Brandon Low earned a comeback victory at 133 while Barrett Abel won by a 5-3 decision at 149 Friday to advance to the finals of the 2010 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships at The Pavilion in Davis, Calif.

UC Davis is currently sixth with 67.5 points. Cal Poly is in first place with 108.5 points while two-time defending champion Boise State is in third with 97.5 points.

Low, the top seed at 133 pounds, advanced to the finals by way of a narrow 4-3 decision over Arizona State's Ben Ashmore, the No. 4 seed. With less than 30 seconds remaining in the third period, Low used a takedown to go up one point on Ashmore, then held on for the final 10 seconds to seal the win and earn a place in the championship. Low will face No. 3 Boris Novachkov of Cal Poly.

In the first session Friday, Low pinned Boise State's Ben DeMuelle at the 6:04 mark to advance to the semifinals.

At 149 pounds, Abel, the No. 2 seed, edged Arizona State's Vicente Varela, seeded third, to move on to the finals. He will face No. 4 Nick Fisher of Cal State Fullerton who stunned the crowd by pinning Boise State's Jason Chamberlain, ranked sixth nationally, at the 4:24 mark.

It is the first championship appearance for both Low and Abel.

Trevor Machado-Ching will compete for a place in the 157-pound consolation semifinals and will face Te Edwards of Arizona State. Machado-Ching, seeded seventh, dropped his first round matchup against Cal Poly's Chase Pami by a 15-6 major decision, then edged Cal State Bakersfield's Andrew Balch with a 2-1 decision to advance to Saturday.



Abe Otrambo advanced at 197 pounds after Cal State Fullerton's Ethan Weisrock forfeited due to injury. Otrambo lost his first round bout with Oregon State's Chad Hanke by a 9-3 decision. Otrambo will face Boise State's Matt Casperson who is seeded fourth.

Ricky Alcala will also see action Saturday as he defeated Stanford's Dylan Rush by an 11-3 major decision at 285 in the second round Friday. Alcala, the fourth seed, dropped to the consolation bracket after a narrow 3-1 loss to fifth-seeded Kurt Klimek of Cal State Fullerton. Alcala will take on Arizona State's Erik Nye who is seeded second.

Saturday's action begins at noon with the consolation semifinals and fifth- and seventh- place matches. The championship finals will begin at 4 p.m. with an awards ceremony to follow.

2010 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships
Feb. 26, 2010
The Pavilion :: Davis, Calif.

Team Scores: 1. Cal Poly, 108.5; 2. Oregon State, 102.0; 3. Boise State, 97.5; 4. Cal State Bakersfield, 79.5; 5. Arizona State, 76.0; 6. UC Davis, 67.5; 7. Stanford, 66.5; 8. Cal State Fullerton, 57.5.

UC Davis Results Only
125: No. 8 Chris Armendariz - lost tech. fall to Anthony Robles (ASU), 16-0; lost maj. dec. to Andre Gonzalez (Cal State Fullerton), 17-3.

133: No. 1 Brandon Low - won fall over Ben DeMuelle (Boise State), 6:04; won dec. over Ben Ashmore (ASU), 4-3.

141: No. 7 Bryan Osuna - lost maj. dec. to Filip Novachkov (Cal Poly), 16-5; lost maj. dec. to Michael Mangrum (Oregon State), 11-2.

149: No. 2 Barrett Abel - won dec. over Tyler Parker (Stanford), 10-6; won dec. over Vicente Varela (ASU), 9-7.

157: No. 7 Trevor Machado-Ching - lost maj. dec. to Chase Pami (Cal Poly), 15-6; won dec. over Andrew Balch (Cal State Bakersfield), 2-1.

165: No. 7 Joey Wilson - lost dec. to Dan Brascetta (Oregon State), 5-2; lost dec. to Joseph Granata (Cal State Bakersfield), 6-1.

174: No. 8 Alex Darkhovsky - lost tech. fall to Colby Covington (Oregon State), 26-10; lost dec. to Todd Noel (Cal State Fullerton), 5-3.

184: No. 8 Rory McBryde - lost fall to Kirk Smith (Boise State), 1:33; lost tech. fall to Ty Vinson (Oregon State), 21-5.

197: No. 7 Abe Otrambo - lost dec. to Chad Hanke (Oregon State), 9-3; won inj. def. over Ethan Weisrock (Cal State Fullerton)

285: No. 4 Ricky Alcala - lost dec. to Kurt Klimek (Cal State Fullerton), 3-1; won maj. dec. over Dylan Rush (Stanford), 11-3.