Abel Wins Pac-10 Title, Low Second

Barrett Abel is shown in action against Tyler Parker of Stanford.
Barrett Abel is shown in action against Tyler Parker of Stanford.

Feb. 27, 2010

DAVIS, Calif. - Barrett Abel won UC Davis' first Pac-10 individual title since 2007 after earning a 12-9 decision over Cal Poly's Nick Fisher at 149 pounds Saturday at the 2010 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships in Davis, Calif.

"It feels great," said Abel. "I want to keep looking ahead to prepare for the NCAA Championships so I'm sure after the season is completely over it will really sink in, but it definitely feels good. There's still a lot of work left to do to get ready for NCAAs so I want to keep focusing on that but this feels great."

Brandon Low was narrowly beaten by Cal Poly's Boris Novachkov at 133 pounds to finish second. Low used a takedown with less than 30 seconds left to tie the score at three points apiece, but Novachkov earned a bonus point for amassing over two minutes of riding time to take the 4-3 decision.

"I felt like I came out decently aggressive," said Low. I could have been more aggressive. He was able to ride me, stay on top, stay heavy, keep his weight on me and wear me out. He was smart about things so I was just trying to keep pushing back. I felt like I was pushing the action better than he was. I have three weeks off now to let my body rest up now and get it feeling good again before NCAAs."

UC Davis also earned a third-place finish from Ricky Alcala at 285. Alcala defeated Kurt Klimek of Cal State Fullerton by a 6-1 decision.

Abel, Low and Alcala all earned automatic qualifying spots to the 2010 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships in Omaha, Neb.

Bryan Osuna was seventh at 141 pounds while Trevor Machado-Ching finished sixth at 157. Abe Otrambo was sixth at 197.



Oregon State won its 18th team title, its first since 2007, with 127.0 total points. Boise State was second with 125.0 points. UC Davis finished seventh with 79.0 points.

Cal State Fullerton's Adin Duenas was named Most Outstanding Wrestler after outlasting six wrestlers ranked in the top-25 nationally to win the 141-pound championship. Duenas, the No. 4 seed, topped Boise State's Levi Jones, the No. 1 seed, in Friday's semifinals. He defeated Cal Poly's Filip Novachkov by a 9-3 decision Saturday to win the individual title and earn a spot at the NCAA Championships.

The NCAA Championships will be held March 18-20, 2010.

Pac-10 Wrestling Championships
February 27, 2010
The Pavilion :: Davis, Calif.

Team Scores: 1. Oregon State, 127.0; 2. Boise State, 125.0; 3. Cal Poly, 120.0; 4. Arizona State, 104.5; 5. Cal State Bakersfield, 97.0; 6. Stanford, 87.0; 7. UC Davis, 79.0; 8. Cal State Fullerton, 77.0.

UC Davis Results Only
125: No. 8 Chris Armendariz - lost maj. dec. to Andre Gonzalez (CSF), 17-3; lost maj. dec. to Micah Ferguson (CP), 15-5 (8th place).

133: No. 1 Brandon Low - lost dec. to Boris Novachkov (CP), 4-3 (2nd place).

141: No. 7 Bryan Osuna - lost maj. dec. to Mike Mangrum (OSU), 11-2; won dec. over Bret Baumbach (Stan), 3-1 (7th place)

149: No. 2 Barrett Abel - won dec. over Nick Fisher (CP), 12-9 (1st place).

157: No. 7 Trevor Machado-Ching - won dec. over Andrew Balch (CSUB), 2-1; lost dec. to Te Edwards (ASU), 8-5; lost tech. fall to Lucas Espericueta (Stan), 16-0 (6th place)

165: No. 7 Joey Wilson - lost dec. to Joseph Granata (CSUB), 6-1; won maj. dec. over Clayton Schulke (CSF), 12-4 (7th place)

174: No. 8 Alex Darkhovsky - lost dec. to Todd Noel (CSF), 5-3; lost by fall to Trevor Hall (CSUB), 4:22 (8th place)

184: No. 8 Rory McBryde - lost tech. fall to Ty Vinson (OSU), 21-5; lost by fall to Mark Savalle (CSF), 5:27 (8th place)

197: No. 7 Abe Otrambo - won inj. def. over Ethan Weisrock (CSF); lost by fall to Matt Casperson (BSU), 2:56; lost dec. to Richard Kessler (Stan), 7-4 (6th place)

285: No. 4 Ricky Alcala - won dec. over Kurt Klimek (CSF), 6-1 (3rd place)