Jarvis To Wrestle For Pac-10 Title For Second Straight Year; Aggies in Seventh

Jeremiah Jarvis is in the Pac-10 final for the second straight year.
Jeremiah Jarvis is in the Pac-10 final for the second straight year.

March 2, 2003

Updated Pac-10 Brackets

BOISE, Idaho - Junior Jeremiah Jarvis advanced to the final of the 157-pound weight class at the Pacific-10 Conference Championships for the second straight year, leading UC Davis to seventh place after the first day of competition at the tournament being hosted by Boise State.

Second-seeded Jarvis, who lost to Tony Overstake of Oregon in the title match last year, will wrestle fourth-seeded Brian Cobb of Cal St. Bakersfield for the championship on Monday night.

Jarvis also secured a berth in the NCAA Division I Championships for the second straight year. He is just the second Aggie to ever reach the final of the Pac-10 tournament twice in a career, joining Burt Pierson who did it in 2001 and 2002. Only three Aggies have advanced to conference championhips overall.

Cris Brines (141), Nick Davis (149), Michael Font (165) and Jason Paul (285) advanced to Monday's consolation semifinals, looking for wins that will advance them to the national championships and also spots in third-place matches at the conference tournament.

UC Davis' Urijah Faber, seeded second at 133 pounds, went 1-2 and was eliminated. Faber can still make the NCAA Championships if voted one of three wild cards. The top four finishes in each of the 10 weight classes - plus the wild cards - earn berths to the national tournament.

Arizona State has 114.5 points and leads host Boise State, which has 109, for first place. Oregon State is a distant third with 60.5 points. UC Davis, which finished a program-best sixth last year, is seventh after the first day with 38 points; just eight points behind Cal Poly and a half-point ahead of Stanford.

Jarvis opened the tournament with a 3-1 win over Dustin Vance of Cal State Fullerton in the quarterfinals, then beat Rocky Smart of Arizona State, 8-2 in the semifinals. Jarvis beat Smart for the second straight year at the Pac-10 Championships. Jarvis has not faced Cobb this season.

Brines was pinned by second-seeded Gabe Vigil of Boise State in his first match, but came back to beat Brendon Fox of Stanford and Eddie Dahlen of Portland State to earn a berth in the consolation semifinals where he'll face fourth-seeded Juan Mora of Cal St. Fullerton.

Davis won a pigtail-round match against Roberto Vargas of Cal St. Bakersfield, 11-5, then advanced to the semifinals with a 5-3 victory over Overstake in the quarterfinals. However, he lost to Collin Robertson of Boise State, 5-2, dropping him into the consolation semifinals where he will wrestle Stanford's Scott Polley on Monday.

Font upset fourth-seeded Nate Ploehn of Boise State, 6-4, in the quarterfinals but lost to Arizona State's Nick Frost by major decision, 16-6, in the semifinals. Font will face Oregon's Luke Larwin on Monday with a berth to nationals and a spot in the third-place match on the line.

Paul had a difficult task in his opening match, facing top-seeded Kellan Fluckiger of Arizona State. Fluckiger won13-2, but Paul rebounded to beat Antonio Criado of Portland State, 11-0, and then Neil Phillips of Oregon, 2-0, to move into the consolation semifinals. He'll wrestle third-seeded Andy Bowlby of Oregon State on Monday.

Faber was seeded second in the tournament, but had a tough matchup in his opener, facing Boise State's Jesse Brock in the pigtail round. Brock was unseeded despite winning last year's conference title. He beat Faber, 7-5, in overtime, sending Faber into the consolation bracket where he bounced back with a 9-1 major decision over David Rodriguez of Cal St. Fullerton. Fourth-seeded Matt Sanchez of Cal St. Bakersfield, however, eliminated Faber by technical fall, 22-7.

Tommy Schurkamp (125), Shannan Sams (174), Ronnie Silva (184) and Flynn Ficker (197) each lost their first two matches and were eliminated.

The tournament concludes Monday night. The NCAA Championships are scheduled for March 20-22 in Kansas City, Mo.

Boise, Idaho (Hosted by Boise State)
Day 1 of 2
UC Davis results

TEAM STANDINGS (through two sessions) - 1. Arizona State, 114.5; 2. Boise State, 109; 3. Oregon State, 60.5; 4. Cal St. Bakersfield, 51.5; 5. Oregon, 51; 6. Cal Poly, 46; 7. UC DAVIS, 38; 8. Stanford, 37.5; 9. Cal St. Fullerton, 29.5; 10. Portland State, 28.

Tommy Schurkamp - lost dec. Nathan Peterson (Stanford), 4-2 (ot); lost to Michael Delaney (Oregon St.), 5-3 (ot).

Urijah Faber - lost dec. Jesse Brock (Boise St.), 7-5 (tb); won major dec. David Rodriguez (Cal St. Fullerton), 9-1; lost tech. fall Matt Sanchez (Cal St. Bakersfield), 22-7 (7:00).

Cris Brines - lost by fall Gabe Vigil (Boise St.), 4:37; dec. Brendon Fox (Stanford), 5-2; dec. Eddie Dahlen (Portland St.), 10-7.

Nick Davis - won dec. Roberto Vargas (Cal St. Bakersfield), 11-5; won dec. Tony Overstake (Oregon), 5-3; lost dec. Collin Robertson (Boise St.), 6-2.

Jeremiah Jarvis - won dec. Dustin Vance (Cal St. Fullerton), 3-1; won dec. Rocky Smart (Arizona St.), 8-2.

Michael Font - won dec. Nate Ploehn (Boise St.), 6-4; ; lost major dec. Nick Frost (Arizona St.), 16-6.

Shannan Sams - lost major dec. Quinn Collet (Portland St.), 8-0; lost dec. Harold Penson (Stanford), 6-4.

Ronnie Silva - lost tech. fall Ryan Halsey (Cal Poly), 23-7; lost dec. Bryan Travers (Cal St. Bakersfield), 10-7.

Flynn Ficker - lost major dec. Ryan Bader (Arizona St.), 10-2; lost major dec. Landon Seefeldt (Cal St. Fullerton), 12-4.

Jason Paul - lost major dec. Kellan Fluckiger (Arizona St.), 13-2; won major dec. Antonio Criado (Portland St.), 11-0; won dec. Neil Phillips (Oregon), 2-0.