Jarvis Wins Aggies' First-Ever Pac-10 Wrestling Championship

Jeremiah Jarvis became the Aggies' first-ever Pac-10 Champion on Monday.
Jeremiah Jarvis became the Aggies' first-ever Pac-10 Champion on Monday.

March 3, 2003

Final Pac-10 Brackets
Final Pac-10 Team Results

BOISE, Idaho - Second-seeded Jeremiah Jarvis became the first UC Davis wrestler to win a Pacific-10 Conference wrestling championship on Monday night when he won by injury default in the first period against fourth-seeded Brian Cobb of Cal State Bakersfield in the 157-pound final at Boise State.

UC Davis finished seventh at the conference tournament, scoring 46.5 points. Arizona State edged host Boise State for the team title, finishing with 134 points. The Sun Devils had 127.

Jarvis also qualified for his second straight berth in the NCAA Division I Championships later this month in Kansas City, Mo. Jarvis and Cobb were in the first round of their championship match before Cobb retired due to injury.

Three other Aggie wrestlers - Cris Brines (141), Michael Font (165) and Jason Paul (285) - each needed to win their consolation semifinal matchups to guarantee a top-four finish and a probable trip to nationals, but were each defeated. Nick Davis (149) finished fourth in the tournament but was denied an NCAA berth when he lost to Oregon State's Tony Hook in a challenge match for "true fourth place."

Jarvis is just the second Aggie to ever advance to a Pac-10 championship match twice and just the third UC Davis wrestler overall in a final, joining two-time finalist Burt Pierson (2001, 2002) and Pat Guire (1994). Jarvis advanced to the final with wins on Sunday over unseeded Dustin Vance of Cal St. Fullerton and third-seeded Rocky Smart of Arizona State.

Davis earned fourth in the tournament after beating Scott Polley of Stanford by major decision, 18-9, in his consolation semifinal match. His bid to finish third was stopped by a tough 6-4 decision to Cal Poly's Matt Cox, who was seeded fourth. He then had to face Hook, who finished fifth, in a challenge match since they had not faced each other in the tournament. Hook won the match, 3-2, and the accompanying NCAA berth.



Brines lost to fourth-seeded Juan Mora of Cal St. Fullerton, 14-4, in his consolation semifinal, Font was defeated by Oregon's Luke Larwin, 5-3, and Paul was pinned by third-seeded Andy Bowlby of Oregon State. Each Aggie ended in sixth place.

UC Davis will be sending at least two wrestlers to the NCAA Tournament for the third straight year. Jarvis joins Pierson and Faber as the program's only two-time qualifiers.

Boise, Idaho (Hosted by Boise State)
Day 2 of 2
UC Davis results (Monday only)

FINAL TEAM STANDINGS - 1. Arizona State, 134; 2. Boise State, 127; 3. Oregon State, 93.5; 4. Cal Poly, 73.5; 5. Oregon, 68; 6. Cal State Bakersfield, 66.5; 7. UC DAVIS, 46.5; 8. Cal State Fullerton, 44.5; 9 Stanford, 37.5; 10. Portland State, 31.5.

141 Cris Brines - (consolation semifinals) lost major dec. Juan Mora (Cal St. Fullerton), 14-4; (fifth place) - lost dec. Mike Unger (Oregon St.), 6-1.

149 Nick Davis - (consolation semifinals) won major dec. Scott Polley (Stanford), 18-9; (third place) lost dec. Matt Cox (Cal Poly), 6-4; ("true fourth") lost dec. Tony Hook (Oregon St.), 3-2.

157 Jeremiah Jarvis - (championship) won injury def. Brian Cobb (Cal St. Bakersfield).

165 Michael Font - (consolation semifinals) - lost dec. Luke Larwin (Oregon), 5-3; (fifth place) - lost medical forfeit Nathan Ploehn (Boise St.).

285 Jason Paul - (consolation semifinals) - lost by fall to Andy Bowlby (Oregon St.), 1:32; (fifth place) lost by fall to Chad Troxler (Cal St. Bakersfield), 4:06.