Moore, Cook Earn Victories In NCAA First Round

Derek Moore (shown) and Ken Cook both earned victories on Thursday morning to advance to the second round tonight. (Randy Martin)
Derek Moore (shown) and Ken Cook both earned victories on Thursday morning to advance to the second round tonight. (Randy Martin)

March 15, 2007

AUBURN HILLS, Mich. - Derek Moore pinned C.J. Ettelson of Northern Iowa in 2:46 and Ken Cook defeated Trevor Perry of Indiana to highlight the first round of the 2007 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships for UC Davis at the Palace of Auburn Hills on Thursday morning.

Moore earned the first win for the Aggies as his fall over Ettelson ties the team lead of five and improves his overall record to a perfect 20-0 this season. Moore got to work quickly as he took down Ettleson immediately following the opening whistle to score two points. Moore rode him the rest of way and scored a three-point near-fall to jump up 5-0. After a stalemate was called, Moore started from the top and rolled Ettelson to earn the pin.

"My mindset going into this match was to pin him as fast as possible to avoid any type of injury," said Moore. "I struggled to pin him right away, but I knew I had over a minute to get it done before the period ended. I know if I get on top of anybody I can turn them."

Moore will face unseeded freshman Kyle Terry of Oklahoma in tonight's second round.

Cook capped the first round for UC Davis and earned his 25th overall victory this season with an 8-3 decision over Perry in his opening match. Cook had no problem getting behind Perry as he capitalized on three takedowns while earning almost four minutes of riding time.

"I knew my takedowns would work right from the start and with my riding time I knew I had him," said Cook. "He was just what I expected (in the first round)... my next match will be a tough one."

Cook will compete in tonight's second round against Pac-10 foe and No. 11 seed Jeremy Larson of Oregon State for a chance to advance to tomorrow's quarterfinals. Larson and Cook have met four times this season with each wrestler taking two victories.



Dustin Noack battled No. 2 seed and Big Ten champion Mark Perry of Iowa, but came up short in a 7-0 loss. Perry scored a takedown in the first period and rode Noack out the remainder of the period. In the second period, Noack battled back and brought Perry's riding time of over two minutes down to 56 seconds. Perry scored another take down in the final period and rode Noack out to earn the 7-0 decision.

Noack will face unseeded Chad Porter of Liberty in tonight's wreslteback.

Marcos Orozco and Omar Gaitan both had tough draws in the first round against top-ranked opponents. Orozco lost a 15-0 technical fall decision to four seed Charlie Falck of Iowa while Orozco lost a major decision, 11-1, to five seed and Big 12 champion Coleman Scott of four-time defending national champions Oklahoma State.

Orozco faces No. 12 Matthew Eveleth of Penn in the wrestleback while Gaitan will face unseeded Rob Tate of Gardner-Webb in the 133-pound wrestleback.

The Aggies will return to the Palace tonight with second round and wrestleback matches set to begin at 4:00 p.m. PST.

NCAA Championships, First Round
Palace of Auburn Hills, March 15, 2007

Marcos Orozco (125) - lost tech. fall No. 5 Charlie Falck (Iowa), 15-0;
Omar Gaitan (133) - lost maj. dec. No. 4 Coleman Scott (OSU), 11-1
No. 2 Derek Moore (141) - won fall C.J. Ettelson (UNI), 2:46.
Dustin Noack (165) - lost dec. No. 2 Mark Perry (Iowa), 7-0
No. 6 Ken Cook (174) - won dec. Trevor Perry (Indiana), 7-2