Four Aggies Still Alive After First Day Of NCAA Champions

Dustin Noack responded from an opening round loss with two wins in the wrestleback bracket.  (Randy Martin)
Dustin Noack responded from an opening round loss with two wins in the wrestleback bracket. (Randy Martin)

March 15, 2007

AUBURN HILLS, Mich. - No. 25 UC Davis has a school record total of four wrestlers still alive in the NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships as Derek Moore defeated Kyle Terry of Oklahoma to advance to the quarterfinals, and Dustin Noack, Ken Cook and Marcos Orozco all advanced to the Friday matches at the Palace of Auburn Hills.

With one wrestler still in the championship bracket and three more still alive, the Aggies are tied with Harvard for 30th overall with 6.5 points. Minnesota leads overall with 34.0 points.

"I was really pleased with our overall success today," said head coach Lennie Zaleskey. "I believe we set a new school record with six overall victories at nationals and having four guys still alive is great. It's a tough tournament and to be successful you must bring your best performance. Hopefully all four guys can stay alive through tomorrow."

Moore battled Terry in a close match and used two takedowns and experience to beat the redshirt freshman, 6-3, which upped his overall record to 21-0 this season. Moore pinned C.J. Ettelson of Northern Iowa earlier in the day in 2:46 to advance to the second round.

"I was supposed to be here last year before I hurt my knee," said Moore of his quarterfinal appearance. "It's just one step closer to a national championship. I'm just happy that tomorrow's and Saturday's sessions will be on ESPN so my friends and family who didn't make it can watch me compete."

Moore is back in action tomorrow in the quarterfinals against unseeded Michael Keefe of Tennessee-Chatanooga. Keefe upset the No. 7 and No. 10 seeded wrestlers on the first day.

Noack won both of his wrestleback matches after opening with a 7-0 loss to two seed Mark Perry of Iowa to push his overall win total to 22 this season. Noack opened the wrestleback round with a pigtail match against Chad Porter of Liberty. Noack scored three takedowns through the first two periods before giving up a takedown at the beginning of the third period. Noack regained his top position and earned the extra point with over two minutes of riding time to earn his first career victory at the national tournament, 7-2.



Noack returned later in the night and pulled out a tight 5-4 victory over Ryan Meyer of South Dakota State. Down 4-3 with just over a minute remaining, Noack scored a takedown to claim the match.

"I didn't come into this tournament to worry about my record," said Noack. "I just wanted to wrestle the best I could in front of 15,000 fans every night. I have three more matches to become an All-American, which was my goal coming in."

Noack returns tomorrow with a match against unseeded Jason Kiessling of Maryland.

Orozco also won his first career match at nationals as he earned an 8-3 upset decision over No. 12 and EIWA champion Matt Eveleth of Penn, who entered with a 19-8 overall record. Orozco rebounded after a tough 15-0 technical fall loss to five seed Charlie Flick of Iowa in the opening round. Orozco has now won 18 matches this season.

"It was very exciting," said Orozco of his victory. "It really put a smile on my face. Right now I just need to stay focused and keep that podium in my sights."

Orozco will return tomorrow morning for a match with No. 11 David Tomasette of Hofstra for the chance to continue through the consolation bracket.

Cook lost his second match to Pac-10 rival Jeremy Larson of Oregon State to drop into the consolation bracket. Cook jumped out to an early lead with a takedown in the first minute of the opening period. Larson rebounded with an escape and a takedown to lead 3-2 after one period. Cook jumped out to a two point lead after an escape and another takedown in the second period. Larson separated himself in the final period with two takedowns to take the eventual 9-7 decision.

Cook will return tomorrow with a match against unseeded Lloyd Rogers of Tennessee-Chattanooga.

Omar Gaitan finished out his career with a major decision loss to Rob Tate of Gardner-Webb. He also suffered a major decision earlier in the day to four seed Coleman Scott of Oklahoma State, 11-1.

The NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships continue tomorrow with quarterfinals and wrestleback matches at 8:00 a.m. PST. The second day concludes at 4:00 p.m. PST with semifinals and continued wrestle back matches. Both sessions will be broadcast live on ESPNU.

NCAA Division I Championships, Day One
Palace of Auburn Hills, March 15, 2007

Marcos Orozco (125) - lost tech. fall No. 5 Charlie Falck; won dec. No. 12 Matthew Eveleth (Penn), 8-3
Omar Gaitan (133) - lost maj. dec. No. 4 Coleman Scott (OK State); lost maj. dec. Rob Tate (G-WU), 19-7
No. 2 Derek Moore (141) - won fall C.J. Ettelson (UNI), 2:46; won dec. Kyle Perry (Oklahoma)
Dustin Noack (165) - lost dec. Mark Perry (Iowa), 7-0; won dec. Chad Porter (Liberty), 7-2; Ryan Meyer (SDSU)
No. 6 Ken Cook (174) - won dec. Trevor Perry (Indiana), 7-2; lost dec. Jeremy Larson (Ore. State), 9-7.

More Headlines

  • Wrestling | 03/31/2010
    McBryde Receives Pac-10 All-Academic Honors

    UC Davis sophomore Rory McBryde was named to the 2010 Pacific-10 Conference Wrestling All-Academic First Team, it was announced today by Pac-10 Commissioner Larry Scott. MORE

  • Wrestling | 03/17/2010
    Low, Abel, Alcala Head to NCAA Championships

    UC Davis (3-12, 1-6 Pac-10) will send Brandon Low, Barrett Abel and Ricky Alcala to the 2010 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships. The three-day tournament will be held at the Qwest Center Omaha in Omaha, Neb. MORE

  • Wrestling | 03/10/2010
    NCAA Announces Wrestling Championship Brackets

    The brakcets for the 2010 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships have been released, it was announced Wednesday. Barrett Abel, Brandon Low and Ricky Alcala will represent UC Davis as all three automatically qualified after successful weekends at the Pac-10 Wrestling Championships Feb. 27. MORE

  • Wrestling | 02/27/2010
    Abel Wins Pac-10 Title, Low Second

    Barrett Abel won UC Davis' first Pac-10 individual title since 2007 after earning a 12-9 decision over Cal Poly's Nick Fisher at 149 pounds Saturday at the 2010 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships in Davis, Calif. MORE

  • Wrestling | 02/26/2010
    Low, Abel Advance to Pac-10 Finals

    Brandon Low earned a comeback victory at 133 while Barrett Abel won by a 5-3 decision at 149 Friday to advance to the finals of the 2010 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships at The Pavilion in Davis, Calif. MORE

  • Wrestling | 02/25/2010
    Pac-10 Conference Announces Seeding for Champio...

    The Pacific-10 Conference has released the seeding bracket for the 2010 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships, it was announced Friday. UC Davis is led by junior Brandon Low who is the No. 1 seed at 133 pounds and junior Barrett Abel who is seeded second at 149 pounds. Ricky Alcala is the fourth seed ... MORE

  • Wrestling | 02/24/2010
    UC Davis Prepares for Pac-10 Championships

    UC Davis (3-12, 1-6 Pac-10) prepares to compete in the 2010 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships Feb. 26-27, which it will also host. The two-day tournament will begin Friday, Feb. 26 at noon with the first session and will continue into Saturday., Feb. 27. The Pac-10 Wrestling Championship Finals will... MORE

  • Wrestling | 02/12/2010
    Cal Poly Beats UC Davis 34-7 In Pac-10 Matchup

    Fifteenth-ranked Brandon Low and No. 16 Ricky Alcala each picked up victories for UC Davis on Friday night but No. 16 Cal Poly posted wins in the remaining eight matches on its way to a 34-7 Pac-10 wrestling match at Mott Gym. MORE