Aggie Wrestlers Have Strong Showing at California Open

The UC Davis wrestling team will return to action Dec. 2-3 when they compete at the Las Vegas Invitational.
The UC Davis wrestling team will return to action Dec. 2-3 when they compete at the Las Vegas Invitational.

Nov. 21, 2005

FULLERTON, Calif. - Six UC Davis wrestlers advanced to the final match in their weight classes Saturday at the California Open which was hosted by Cal State Fullerton. In a long day of wrestling, Omar Gaitan, Derek Moore, Jeff Bristol, Frank Richmond, Ken Cook and Tyler Bernacchi all wrestled their way into the one-day event's championship matches.

Gaitan (133) won three matches by major decision and one by decision before falling to Tommy Vargas of Cal State Bakersfield in a 7-2 decision in the first place match to take second in the 133 weight class. Two Aggies advanced to the championship round for the 141 class, Derek Moore earned five wins, including two by fall to enter into the final match against teammate Jeff Bristol. Bristol started the day by defeating Casey Marshall by fall and proceeded to win three more matches by decision before double defaulting against Moore in the first place match-up.

Frank Richmond (165) won three matches by decision, including two decided by a single-point, before losing by default to Brian Busby of Bakesfield to take second in his class. Ken Cook (174) also made it into the final match with three wins on the day, highlighted by a win by fall over Nick Walden of Embry-Riddle only 33 seconds into the dual.



Tyler Bernacchi (184) rounded out the list of Aggies making it into the final round, recording four wins during the tournament including back-to-back wins by fall. Bernacchi dropped a tough 3-0 decision to Ryan Halsey of Cal Poly in the championship.

Other highlights include eighth place finishes from Shawn Haratani (149) and Broc Maffia (282) and a fifth place from Eliot Kelly (197). Kelly had two wins by technical fall as the day progressed and pinned Quinton Pruitt of Arizona State 1:26 into the match to take another win. Kelly defeated John Drake of Titan in a 1-0 decision to take fifth in the 197-pound weight class.

The Aggies will take this week off before returning to action Dec. 2-3 when they compete in the Las Vegas Invitational.

UC Davis Individual Results

Marcos Orozco (125) - won dec. James Bailey (Titan), 7-0; won fall Mark Ibarra (CSUB), 3:13; lost dec. Chad Mendes (CP), 2-7; lost dec. Richard Byrd (Embry-Riddle), 6-11.

Omar Gaitan (133) - won major dec. Eric Melgares (CP), 15-6; won major dec. Alex Varela (Unatt.), 13-4; won major dec. Eddie Garza (Embry-Riddle), 13-3; won dec. John Espinosa (Unatt.), 5-1; FIRST-PLACE: lost dec. Tommy Vargas (CSUB), 2-7.

Kyle Bank (133) - won dec. Franky Villaescusa (Embry-Riddle), 8-6; lost dec. John Espinosa (Unatt.), 14-15; lost dec. Jose Hernandez (Unatt.), 4-7.

Derek Moore (141) - won fall Casey Marshall (ELA), 1:31; won fall Cleo Johnson (FPC), 5:47; won major dec. David Christian (CP), 16-2; won tech. fall Joe Garcia (Menlo), 16-0; won dec. Steve Esparza (CP), 5-0; FIRST-PLACE double default Jeff Bristol (UCD).

Jeff Bristol (141) - won fall Eli Chaidez (West Valley); won dec. Matt Schumm (CSUB), 4-0; won dec. Joaquin Carlos (CSF), 6-2; won dec. David Roberts (CP), 7-5; FIRST-PLACE: double default Derek Moore (UCD).

Jesse Padilla (149) - won dec. Stephen Saenz (Rio Hondo), 6-1; lost fall Will Brown (FPC), 3:36; lost dec. Shawn Haratani (UCD), 4-6.

Shawn Haratani (149) - lost fall Dan Cadwallader (FSU); won fall John Charon (Unatt.), 5:28; won dec. Jesse Padilla (UCD), 6-4; won dec. Evan Meigares (CP), 7-4; won default John Zupanic (Stanford); lost dec. Dan Cadwallader (FSU); SEVENTH-PLACE: lost default Brandon Doyle (CSUB).

Frank Richmond (165) - won dec. Brian Perry (Stanford), 7-6; won dec. Rob Maxwell (CP), 5-4; won dec. Rislo Martinen (Titan); 9-3; FIRST-PLACE: lost default Brian Busby (CSUB).

Jon Clark (165) - won fall Luis Baltazar (SA), 4:50; lost fall Brian Busby (CSUB), 1:06; won dec. Bobby Musser (CSUB), 8-4; won dec. Morgan Scott (Unatt.), 11-5; lost dec. Rob Maxwell (CP), 5-6.

Ken Cook (174) - won fall Nick Walden (Embry-Riddle), :33; won tech. fall Garth Wara (CSUB), 18-2; won dec. Yuri Kalika (CP), 5-2; FIRST-PLACE: lost default Ryan Budd (Titan).

Tyler Bernacchi (184) - won major dec. Tim Hawkins (Mt. Sac), 16-7; won dec. Joffre Lander (Embry-Riddle), 7-2; won fall Chris Angle (CP), 3:28; won fall Jesse Taylor (CSF), 5:31; FIRST-PLACE: lost dec. Ryan Halsey (CP), 3-0.

Eliot Kelly (197) - lost major dec. CB Dolloway (Unatt.), 2-13; won tech. fall Francisco Beltran (CSUB), 18-2; won fall Quinton Pruitt (ASU), 1:26; won tech. fall Cory Compton (Sac City), 21-6; won dec. Tom Haines (Unatt.), 5--2; lost dec. Chris Chambers (CSF), 12-19; FIFTH PLACE: won dec. John Drake (Titan), 1-0.

Broc Maffia (282) - won dec. Dean Antolin (West Valley), 3-2; won fall James Clark (Modesto), 4:44; lost dec. Joe Ricco (FPC), 1-2; won dec. Mitchell Montiero (CP), 3-2; lost dec. Arturo Baulto (CP), 2-6; SEVENTH-PLACE: lost default James Clark (Modesto).