Moore Advances To Semifinals At Cliff Keen Invitational

Derek Moore won three matches on Friday at the Cliff Keen Invitational in Las Vegas.
Derek Moore won three matches on Friday at the Cliff Keen Invitational in Las Vegas.

Dec. 5, 2003

Complete tournament results

LAS VEGAS, Nev. - Redshirt freshman Derek Moore won three matches on Friday, advancing to Saturday's semifinal round of the 133-pound weight class at the 2003 Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational, being contested at the Las Vegas Convention Center.

Tenth-seeded Jeremiah Jarvis was the only other Aggie to survive the first day of competition at the prestigious tournament, which features some of the nation's top collegiate wrestlers. Jarvis lost his second round matchup at 157 pounds but rebounded to win his third match, advancing to the quarterfinal round of the wrestleback bracket.

Moore, from Shasta High School in Redding, opened his tournament with a 9-0 major decision win over Michigan's Chase Metcalf. The fifth-seeded Moore then followed that with a 4-1 victory against Caleb Schaeffer of Montana State-Northern in the second round. Facing fourth-seeded Quincy Osborn of Michigan in the quarterfinals, Moore pulled off a mild upset to record a 6-0 win. He'll compete in the semifinals on Saturday morning, hoping to advance to the evening's championship round.

Jarvis edged Brad Harper of Purdue, 3-2, in the first round but lost to seventh-seeded Brian Stith of Arizona State in the round of 16, 3-1 in overtime. Jarvis, a two-time NCAA Championship Tournament participant and a 2003 Pacific-10 Conference champion for the Aggies, came back to pin Brian Yates of Edinboro in just 34 seconds, advancing to the fourth round of the wrestleback bracket.

Five other UC Davis wrestlers each went 2-2 before bowing out of the tournament. Tommy Schurkamp (125), Kevin Jones (149), Michael Font (165), Dan Schon (197) and Flynn Ficker (285) each split four matches for the Aggies.



Nebraska has 99.5 points to lead the team competition with Michigan second with 95 and Missouri third at 62.5. UC Davis' point totals were not available.

2003 Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational
Las Vegas Convention Center
Friday's Results
(UC Davis only)

Tommy Schurkamp (125)
1st rd - lost major dec. Mark Moos (Michigan), 4-16; WB 1 - won dec. Jared Henning (C. Oklahoma), 9-4; WB 2 - won major dec. Forest Borge (Lassen CC), 12-4; WB 3 - won dec. Joey Bareng (S.F. State), 6-4; WB 4 - lost by default Rob McCabe (Adams St.).

Derek Moore (133)
1st rd - won major dec. Chase Metcalf (Michigan), 9-0; 2nd rd. - won dec. Caleb Schaffer (Montana St.-Northern), 4-1; QF - won dec. Quincy Osborn (Michigan), 6-0.

Jeff Bristol (141)
1st rd. - lost major dec. Tyson Biddle (Missouri Valley), 8-16; WB 1 - won dec. Kyle LeValley (N. Colorado), 5-1; WB 2 - lost by fall Douglas Withstandley (Purdue), 4:51.

Kevin Jones (149)
Pigtails - won dec. Brandon Meis (Adams St.), 6-5; 1st rd. - lost major dec. Jeremy Spates (Missouri), 5-14; WB 1 - won dec. Jeff Nimrick (C. Washington), 5-2; WB 2 - lost dec. Mike Baria (Harvard), 0-4.

Jeremiah Jarvis (157)
1st rd. - won dec. Brad Harper (Purdue), 3-2; 2nd rd. - lost dec. Brian Stith (Arizona St.), 1-3 (ot); WB 3 - won by fall Brian Yates (Edinboro), 0:34.

Michael Font (165)
1st rd. - won major dec. Blaine Brown (Air Force), 18-10; 2nd rd. - lost dec. Jacob Volkmann (Minnesota), 4-6; WB 3 - won dec. Drew Dickerson (Missouri Valley), 14-9; WB 4 - lost dec. Dustin Kawa (N.C. State), 2-8.

Frank Richmond (174)
1st rd. - lost dec. Gabriel Lucero (Army), 5-10; WB 2 - lost dec. Josh McLay (Minnesota), 2-4.

Brandon Bear (184)
Pigtails - lost dec. Travis Pascoe (Nebraska), 9-14; WB 1 - lost dec. Mario Thomas (Missouri Valley), 2-3.

Dan Schon (197)
Pigtails - lost dec. Brendan McLean (Air Force), 2-4 (ot); WB 1 - won tech fall Quinton McGill (Neosho), 16-0; WB 2 - won by fall Luis Robles (S.F. State), 3:10; WB 3 - lost tech fall Nathan Moore (Purdue), 16-0.

Flynn Ficker (285)
Pigtails - lost major dec. Clint Freeman (Missouri), 2-12; WB 1 - won major dec. Ryan Kittrick (George Mason), 18-4; WB 2 - won dec. Kelly Anundson (Lassen CC), 4-1; WB 3 - lost dec. Israel Silva (North Idaho), 5-9.

WB - Wrestleback bracket (i.e., consolation)

More Headlines

  • Wrestling | 03/31/2010
    McBryde Receives Pac-10 All-Academic Honors

    UC Davis sophomore Rory McBryde was named to the 2010 Pacific-10 Conference Wrestling All-Academic First Team, it was announced today by Pac-10 Commissioner Larry Scott. MORE

  • Wrestling | 03/17/2010
    Low, Abel, Alcala Head to NCAA Championships

    UC Davis (3-12, 1-6 Pac-10) will send Brandon Low, Barrett Abel and Ricky Alcala to the 2010 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships. The three-day tournament will be held at the Qwest Center Omaha in Omaha, Neb. MORE

  • Wrestling | 03/10/2010
    NCAA Announces Wrestling Championship Brackets

    The brakcets for the 2010 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships have been released, it was announced Wednesday. Barrett Abel, Brandon Low and Ricky Alcala will represent UC Davis as all three automatically qualified after successful weekends at the Pac-10 Wrestling Championships Feb. 27. MORE

  • Wrestling | 02/27/2010
    Abel Wins Pac-10 Title, Low Second

    Barrett Abel won UC Davis' first Pac-10 individual title since 2007 after earning a 12-9 decision over Cal Poly's Nick Fisher at 149 pounds Saturday at the 2010 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships in Davis, Calif. MORE

  • Wrestling | 02/26/2010
    Low, Abel Advance to Pac-10 Finals

    Brandon Low earned a comeback victory at 133 while Barrett Abel won by a 5-3 decision at 149 Friday to advance to the finals of the 2010 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships at The Pavilion in Davis, Calif. MORE

  • Wrestling | 02/25/2010
    Pac-10 Conference Announces Seeding for Champio...

    The Pacific-10 Conference has released the seeding bracket for the 2010 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships, it was announced Friday. UC Davis is led by junior Brandon Low who is the No. 1 seed at 133 pounds and junior Barrett Abel who is seeded second at 149 pounds. Ricky Alcala is the fourth seed ... MORE

  • Wrestling | 02/24/2010
    UC Davis Prepares for Pac-10 Championships

    UC Davis (3-12, 1-6 Pac-10) prepares to compete in the 2010 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships Feb. 26-27, which it will also host. The two-day tournament will begin Friday, Feb. 26 at noon with the first session and will continue into Saturday., Feb. 27. The Pac-10 Wrestling Championship Finals will... MORE

  • Wrestling | 02/12/2010
    Cal Poly Beats UC Davis 34-7 In Pac-10 Matchup

    Fifteenth-ranked Brandon Low and No. 16 Ricky Alcala each picked up victories for UC Davis on Friday night but No. 16 Cal Poly posted wins in the remaining eight matches on its way to a 34-7 Pac-10 wrestling match at Mott Gym. MORE