Three Aggies Capture Third At Reno Tournament Of Champions

Frank Richmond took third place in the 165-pound weight class at the Reno Tournament of Champions on Sunday.
Frank Richmond took third place in the 165-pound weight class at the Reno Tournament of Champions on Sunday.

Dec. 18, 2005

Complete Individual and Team Results from Reno TOC

RENO, Nev. - Frank Richmond, Ken Cook and Tyler Bernacchi each took third place in their weight brackets and helped lead UC Davis to a eighth place finish at the Brute Reno Tournament of Champions held on Sunday at the Reno Livestock Events Center. The one-day tournament was won by No. 1 ranked Oklahoma State University which earned 194.5 team points, the Aggies finished in eighth place with 66.5 points.

Frank Richmond (165) won four straight matches, including a 20-4 technical fall over Cody Eardley of Western Wyoming College and a 15-5 major decision over Charles Jones of Fresno State, before being defeated by Johnny Hendricks of Oklahoma State in a 12-6 decision. Hendricks ended the tournament with a second place finish. Richmond wrestled his way to third place with a 5-1 win by decision over Ray Blake of Stanford.

Ken Cook (174) won his first three matches of the tournament before coming up short in a 15-10 decision against eventual tournament champion Jake Herbert. Cook made a comeback and pinned James Yonushonis 2 minutes and 57 seconds into the match to advance to the third place match. Cook defeated Christian Arellano of Cal State Bakersfield in 13-3 major decision to take third place in the 174-pound division.

Tyler Bernacchi (184) won his first two matches by fall, the first against Matt Norton 1 minute and 49 seconds into the match and the second win by fall was against Josh Koons 1 minute and 53 seconds into his second match-up. Bernacchi went on to defeat Jesse Taylor of Cal State Fullerton in a 7-4 decision before being defeated by eventual second place finisher Shane Webster of Oregon in a 5-2 decision. Bernacchi wrestled his way back into the third place match where he defeated Christian Sinnott of Central Missouri in a 7-1 decision.



The Aggies will return to action on Jan. 8 when they face Iowa State and Arizona State in dual match-ups in Phoenix, Arizona.

UC Davis Results Only

Marcos Orozco (125) - won major dec. Josh Williams (SWO), 8-0; lost dec. Matt Steintrager (CMU), 4-7; lost dec. Cory Borges (FSU), 4-6.

Omar Gaitan (133) - won dec. Tony Washington (NEW), 9-8; lost major dec. Nathan Morgan (OSU), 5-16; won dec. Tyson Shatto (WYO), 10-5; won dec. Danny Scotton (PRIN), 8-2; lost fall Ralph Acosta (UIU), 5:52.

Kyle Bank (133) - won fall Lester Brown (ASU), 6:48; lost tech. fall Jake Strayer (3rd Place, Penn), 5-21; won fall Alvin Simmons (NEW), 4:35; lost dec. Darryl Goodpaster (FSU), 7-5.

David Espinosa (133) - won major dec. Tyler Kilkenny (SWO), 16-3; lost fall Josh Keefe (6th Place, TENN), 6:12; lost fall Micaiah Watkins (EMB), 4:57.

Shawn Haratani (149) - lost dec. Brandon Lozdowski (NWU), 3-11; lost dec. Morgan Atkinson (FUL), 4-10.

Jesse Padilla (149) - lost Clayton Wolf (UVS), Forfeit; lost Wayne French (TENN), Forfeit.

Jon Clark (157) - won fall Justin Barden (PAC), 1:18; lost dec. Nathan Galloway (4th Place, PENN), 1-3; won dec. Kainoa Casco (PSU), 7-4; won dec. Brandon Kelly (NEW), 6-2; lost dec. Eric Neil (6th Place, CMU), 5-6.

Frank Richmond (165) - won tech. fall Cody Eardley (WWY), 20-4; won dec. Brian Busby (BAK), 5-1; won major dec. Charles Jones (FSU), 15-5; lost dec. Johnny Hendricks (2nd Place, OSU), 6-12; won dec. Will Durkee (NWU); won dec. Ray Blake (Stanford), 5-1 (3rd Place).

Ken Cook (174) - won major dec. Nicolas Walden (EMB), 12-2; won fall Colt Reece (WWY), :50; won dec. Travis Krinkie (MSU@M), 10-9; lost dec. Jake Herbert (1st Place, NWU), 10-15; won fall James Yonushonis (PENN), 2:57; won major dec. Christian Arellano (BAK), 13-3 (3rd Place).

Tyler Bernacchi (184) - won fall Matt Norton (UIU), 1:49; won fall Josh Koons (MSU@M), 1:53; won dec. Jesse Taylor (FUL), 7-4; lost dec. Shane Webster (2nd Place, ORE), 2-5; won dec. Rusty Blackmon (OSU), 8-6; won dec. Christian Sinnott (CMU), 7-1 (3rd Place).

Eliot Kelly (197) - lost dec. Malcom Havens (WYO), 1-5; won dec. Wesley Taylor (TENN), 11-4; won dec. Jake Schneider (PSU), 12-6; won fall David Garcia (WWY), :48; lost major dec. Jake Butler (5th Place, PRIN), 1-10.

Broc Maffia (285) - lost dec. Zack Tramel (TENN), 3-5; lost dec. Jared Boyer (STAN), 3-5.