Moore Finishes Second At Reno TOC; Bear Finishes Fourth

Derek Moore finished second at Reno on Sunday. <br>(Randy Martin)
Derek Moore finished second at Reno on Sunday.
(Randy Martin)

Dec. 19, 2004

RENO, Nev. - Sophomore Derek Moore roared through his early wrestling matches before dropping a close 5-3 decision to Scott Jorgensen of Boise State on Sunday night, earning second-place honors at the tough Brute Reno Tournament of Championships and leading two UC Davis placewinners at the event.

Besides Moore, UC Davis had another top finisher in 184-pounder Brandon Bear, who advanced to the semifinals before losing to Ryan Halsey of Cal Poly, 14-4. Bear fought back to advance to the third-place match against Clay Kehrer of Oklahoma State. Kehrer won the match for third, 5-3.

UC Davis tied Boise State for ninth in the tournament with 57 points. Oklahoma State easily clinched the team title.

Moore was attempting to become the Aggies' second all-time champion at the prestigious tournament. current assistant coach Jeremiah Jarvis was named the event's most outstanding wrestler on his way to the 157-pound title in 2002.

Moore, one of two returning NCAA qualifiers for UC Davis along with Bear, won his first four matches in dominating fashion. He posted a pair of wins by technical fall, beaeting Stephan Neff of Arizona State, 17-1, in his first match and then rolling to an 18-2 win over Cade Christensen in the quarterfinals. Moore won his other two matches by pin, besting Nick Ripson at 3 minutes, 36 seconds of their second-round match and later pinning Martin Mitchell of Oregon at 4:39 in the semifinals.

The quartet of wins advanced Moore to a championship bout against Jorgensen, who tallied a pair of takedowns for four points and 1:51 of riding time for another to account for his five points. Moore had a trio of escapes for this three points. Jorgensen also beat Moore in a dual between the Aggies and Broncos earlier this month.

Bear nearly joined Moore in Sunday night's finals, but lost 14-4 against Ryan Halsey of Cal Poly in the 184 semifinals. Bear rebounded with a convincing 12-1 major decision against Jatlnder Singh of Fresno State in the consolation semifinals before ......



Bear posted an easy 20-4 technical fall win against Brandon Ceremello of Cal State Bakersfield in his first match, beat Chet McBee of Oregon 11-4 in the second round and then had a 12-4 major decision agaisnt Jack Jensen of Oregon State before facing Halsey.

A total of 13 wrestlers competed in the one-day event for UC Davis, including Daniel Murphree at 149 pounds, who went 3-2 in the tournament, garnering two technical falls and a major decision for his three wins. Frank Richmond went 2-2 at 165 for the Aggies, winning his two bouts by pin, including a fall against Wayne Watts of Utah Valley State just 27 seconds into their consolation matchup.

UC Davis is off until traveling to face San Francisco State on Jan. 8. That match precedes a historic matchup against longtime power Iowa at The Pavilion on Jan. 9. Iowa is coached by Jim Zalesky, brother of Aggie coach Lennie Zalesky.



Team Standings Thru Semifinals (top 5, plus UCD) - 1. Oklahoma State, 147.5; 2. Arizona State, 99; 3. Fresno State, 82; 4. Oregon, 81; 5. Cal State Fullerton, 80... 8. UC Davis, 57.

UC Davis Individual Results

Pancho Manriquez (125) - won dec. Kip Watson (PSU), 10-9; lost dec. Jesse Miramontes (FUL), 12-14; lost dec. Charlie Dawson (MSM), 6-12.

Derek Moore (133) - won tech. fall Stephan Neff (ASU), 17-1; won fall Nick Ripson (SOR), 3:36; won tech. fall Cade Christensen (WWY), 18-2; won fall Martin Mitchell (ORE), 4:39; lost dec. Scott Jorgensen (BSU), 3-5.

Omar Gaitan (141) - lost dec. Adam Kuchnia (WIS), 4-6; won major dec. Wil Gerber (CMO), 18-8; lost dec. Joey Jannsen (SOR), 4-6.

Dan Murphree (149) - won tech. fall Vince Bertucci (CMO), 17-0; lost dec. Tyler Moran (EMB), 5-12; won major dec. Sam Allen (WWY), 16-6; won tech. fall Jake Larson (WIS), 21-4; lost major dec. Jason Rhoten (MSM), 2-12.

Jesse Padilla (157) - won fall Jesse Long (WWY), 4:34; lost fall Matt Gentry (STN), 2:05; lost fall Luke Salazar (BSU), 3:53.

Cooper Fouch (157) - lost major dec. Eric Dabbs (OSU), 6-14; lost dec. Math Bitz (MSM), 7-9.

Frank Richmond (165) - won fall Jimmy Grochowsky (SOR), 2:10; lost dec. Brody Barrios (SLO), 4-11; won fall Wayne Watts (UVS), 0:27; lost fall Joey Bracamonte (ORE), 2:45.

Daniel Price (174) - lost forfeit David Rivera (EMB); lost forfeit Ricky Renzi (ASU).

Elliott Kelly (184) - won tech. fall William Kuenzler (WWY), 16-0; lost major dec. C.B. Dollaway (ASU), 5-17; lost major dec. Jatinder Singh (FSU), 8-16.

Brandon Bear (184) - won tech. fall Brandon Ceremello (BAK), 4-20; won dec. Chet McBee (ORE), 11-4; won major dec. Jack Jensen (OSU), 12-4; lost major dec. Ryan Halsey (SLO), 4-14; won major dec. Jatinder Singh (FSU), 12-1; THIRD-PLACE - Results NA vs. Clay Kehrer (OSU),

Michael Clarkston (UCD), won fall Ben Blessing (PSU), 3:37; lost tech fall Jake Roshalt (OSU), 3-18; lost dec. Ralph Garcia (SLO), 4-6.

Reed Shelger (!97) - lost dec. Marcio Botelho (FSU), 7-10) ; lost dec. Ralph Garcia (SLO), 6-9.

Brock Maffia (285) - lost dec. Arturo Basulto (SLO), 1-5; won dec. Shawn Ritzenthaler (STN), 9-2; lost dec. Taylor Wilkerson (SOR), 1-2.

Evan Hendrix (285) - lost dec. Clint Walbeck (FSU), 0-3; won tech fall Steven Fittinger (PSU), 17-1; lost dec. Arturo Basulto (SLO), 4-6.