NCAA Announces Wrestling Championship Brackets

Barrett Abel in action at the 2010 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships.
Barrett Abel in action at the 2010 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships.

March 10, 2010

Complete Bracket

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - The brakcets for the 2010 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships have been released, it was announced Wednesday. The national championship tournament will be held Mar. 18-20 at the Qwest Center in Omaha, Neb. Barrett Abel, Brandon Low and Ricky Alcala will represent UC Davis as all three automatically qualified after successful weekends at the Pac-10 Wrestling Championships Feb. 27.

Abel won UC Davis' first individual Pac-10 title since 2007 after earning a 12-9 decision over Cal Poly's Nick Fisher at 149 pounds Feb. 27 to automatically advance to the NCAA Championships. Abel, seeded tenth, will make his first trip to nationals and is set to face Anthony D'Alie of Central Michigan. The junior finished with an overall record of 21-7 and was 10-3 in Pac-10 action.

Low finished second at 133 pounds after narrowly losing to Boris Novachkov of Cal Poly by a 4-3 decision at the 2010 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships. It marks the second straight trip for Low who was selected as an at-large qualifier for the 2009 NCAA Championships where he finished 2-2 overall. Low, who owns a 9-2 overall record, will face Drexel's Steve Mytych who is seeded 12th.

Alcala finished third at 285 at the Pac-10 Wrestling Championships in a weight class that earned five automatic qualifying spots to the 2010 NCAA Championships. Alcala avenged a first round loss with a 6-1 decision over Kurt Klimek of Cal State Fullerton. The trip is the second straight for Alcala who earned an automatic berth to the 2009 NCAA Championships and finished 0-2. Alcala will face Scott Steele of Navy, who is the No. 12 seed.