Moore, Cook Earn Seeds At NCAA Championships

Derek Moore's No. 2 seed is the highest seed ever for a UC Davis wrestler at the national tournament. (Randy Martin)
Derek Moore's No. 2 seed is the highest seed ever for a UC Davis wrestler at the national tournament. (Randy Martin)

March 12, 2007

DAVIS, Calif. - It was announced earlier today that UC Davis wrestlers Derek Moore and Ken Cook have received seeds at the NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships for the second consecutive season. The two now become the first Aggies to ever earn seeds to the national tournament in back-to-back seasons.

Moore enters the tournament as the No. 2 seed, which is the highest seed ever by a UC Davis wrestler. Moore, who is a perfect 19-0 this season and ranked No. 2 by the National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) will start his fourth national tournament against C.J. Ettelson of Northern Iowa. Last year Moore had to default his final match after an injury. Ettelson went 3-2 last year at nationals to qualify for the Round of 12. This year, Ettelson was ranked as high as 15th by the NWCA and is currently 26-11.

Cook also enjoys his highest seed at the tournament as he enters with the No. 6 seed. After a first round bye, he will open the tournament in the second round against Trevor Perry of Indiana. Last year Cook was 2-2 and finished one win shy of earning All-America honors. Cook has been ranked as high as fourth by the NWCA this year and is 24-4 heading into the tournament. Perry, a redshirt freshman, is 23-9 this season and finished fifth at the Big Ten Championships.

Dustin Noack at 165, Omar Gaitan at 133 and Marcos Orozco at 125 are all unranked heading into the tournament for the Aggies. Noack, who is 20-7 this season, will get a bye in the first round before meeting up with No. 2 seed Mark Perry of Iowa in the second round. Perry is 27-5 overall this season and is fresh off winning the Big Ten conference championship.

With no first round matches in their respective weight classes, Gaitan and Orozco also have tough match-ups in their first match as they both face top-seeded opponents. Orozco draws No. 5 seed Charlie Falck of Iowa, who is 22-7 overall and the Big Ten runner-up. Gaitan faces No. 4 seed Coleman Scott of four-time defending champion Oklahoma State, who enters with an overall record of 26-3 after claiming his second Big 12 title.

The first day of the national championships begin on Thursday, March 15 at 11:00 a.m. EST. A full version of the NCAA Division I Championship bracket can be viewed through the wrestling page at