Zalesky, Moore Claim Top Pac-10 Honors

Derek Moore (shown with NCAA Outstanding Wrestler trophy) becomes the first Aggie to be named Pac-10 Wrestler of the Year.  (Randy Martin)
Derek Moore (shown with NCAA Outstanding Wrestler trophy) becomes the first Aggie to be named Pac-10 Wrestler of the Year. (Randy Martin)

March 29, 2007

DAVIS, Calif. - In a season full of firsts, the UC Davis wrestling program can now add two more to the list as head coach Lennie Zalesky and senior 141-pounder Derek Moore have been named Pacific-10 Coach and Wrestler of the Year, respectively, marking the first time any Aggie has garnered such honors. The announcement came today from Pac-10 Commissioner Tom Hansen.

Moore capped an outstanding senior campaign by becoming the first UC Davis student-athlete to win an NCAA Division I national championship with his 17-2 technical fall over No. 1 and previously undefeated Ryan Lang of Northwestern. Along with winning the first-ever Division I title for the Aggies, Moore also became the first UC Davis wrestler to accomplish several feats, which included winning back-to-back Pac-10 titles, ranking No. 2 nationally, earning a No. 2 seed at nationals, earning NCAA Most Outstanding Wrestler of the national tournament, earning Pac-10 Wrestler of the Year honors and finishing the season undefeated.

"All these awards seem to keep coming my way, and it's such an honor to be recognized," said Moore. "I'm happy to get this award more for Coach Z (Zalesky) than anything. It's so great for UC Davis."

"You have very few chances in your career to coach athletes of Derek's caliber and I'm just excited to have seen him transform into a champion," said Zalesky. "He had great performances all year long. From beating No. 4 Nathan Morgan in Oklahoma; to winning at Las Vegas; to claiming the national title. It's an amazing way to cap off his career."

Pac-10 Coach of the Year Lennie Zalesky (Brad Mangin)

This is also the first Pac-10 award for Zalesky, who led the Aggies to a 6-2 record in Pac-10 duals and a best-ever finish of third at the conference championships with a school-record point total of 96.5. This season the Aggies rolled off six straight Pac-10 dual wins and upset then-No.19 Oregon State to earn the first national team ranking in program history. Overall, UC Davis earned its highest ever national finish of 22nd with another school-record point total of 29.5.

"This award is very unexpected," said Zalesky. "I have to give a lot of credit to my assistant coaches and the student-athletes on the team because there's so many factors that go into winning an award like this. I know that win over Oregon State helped a lot in this decision."

The Aggie wrestling team finished the season with an overall record of 8-7 and were ranked 25th by the National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA)and as high as 13th by The team also sent a school-record five student-athletes to the national tournament in Detroit, Mich. and had a record four of those wrestlers advance to the second day of the competition.



More Headlines

  • Wrestling | 03/31/2010
    McBryde Receives Pac-10 All-Academic Honors

    UC Davis sophomore Rory McBryde was named to the 2010 Pacific-10 Conference Wrestling All-Academic First Team, it was announced today by Pac-10 Commissioner Larry Scott. MORE

  • Wrestling | 03/17/2010
    Low, Abel, Alcala Head to NCAA Championships

    UC Davis (3-12, 1-6 Pac-10) will send Brandon Low, Barrett Abel and Ricky Alcala to the 2010 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships. The three-day tournament will be held at the Qwest Center Omaha in Omaha, Neb. MORE

  • Wrestling | 03/10/2010
    NCAA Announces Wrestling Championship Brackets

    The brakcets for the 2010 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships have been released, it was announced Wednesday. Barrett Abel, Brandon Low and Ricky Alcala will represent UC Davis as all three automatically qualified after successful weekends at the Pac-10 Wrestling Championships Feb. 27. MORE

  • Wrestling | 02/27/2010
    Abel Wins Pac-10 Title, Low Second

    Barrett Abel won UC Davis' first Pac-10 individual title since 2007 after earning a 12-9 decision over Cal Poly's Nick Fisher at 149 pounds Saturday at the 2010 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships in Davis, Calif. MORE

  • Wrestling | 02/26/2010
    Low, Abel Advance to Pac-10 Finals

    Brandon Low earned a comeback victory at 133 while Barrett Abel won by a 5-3 decision at 149 Friday to advance to the finals of the 2010 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships at The Pavilion in Davis, Calif. MORE

  • Wrestling | 02/25/2010
    Pac-10 Conference Announces Seeding for Champio...

    The Pacific-10 Conference has released the seeding bracket for the 2010 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships, it was announced Friday. UC Davis is led by junior Brandon Low who is the No. 1 seed at 133 pounds and junior Barrett Abel who is seeded second at 149 pounds. Ricky Alcala is the fourth seed ... MORE

  • Wrestling | 02/24/2010
    UC Davis Prepares for Pac-10 Championships

    UC Davis (3-12, 1-6 Pac-10) prepares to compete in the 2010 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships Feb. 26-27, which it will also host. The two-day tournament will begin Friday, Feb. 26 at noon with the first session and will continue into Saturday., Feb. 27. The Pac-10 Wrestling Championship Finals will... MORE

  • Wrestling | 02/12/2010
    Cal Poly Beats UC Davis 34-7 In Pac-10 Matchup

    Fifteenth-ranked Brandon Low and No. 16 Ricky Alcala each picked up victories for UC Davis on Friday night but No. 16 Cal Poly posted wins in the remaining eight matches on its way to a 34-7 Pac-10 wrestling match at Mott Gym. MORE