McBryde Receives Pac-10 All-Academic Honors

Rory McBryde
Rory McBryde

March 31, 2010

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - UC Davis sophomore Rory McBryde was named to the 2010 Pacific-10 Conference Wrestling All-Academic First Team, it was announced today by Pac-10 Commissioner Larry Scott.

To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade point average and be a starter or significant contributer for their respective program.

McBryde currently holds a 3.71 GPA and is majoring in philosophy. Most recently, McBryde was one of four UC Davis student-athletes to receive the Alfred J. Hoefer Memorial Scholarship for his outstanding work in the classrom.

The Eagle River, Alaska native finished the 2009-10 wrestling campaign with an 11-17 overall record and a 4-12 mark in Pac-10 competition at 184 pounds. He posted three pins and faced three wrestlers who were ranked in the top-20 nationally, including Boise State's Kirk Smith who was No. 1 at the time of competition.

2010 Pac-10 All-Academic Wrestling Teams


Nick Amuchastegui, STANR-So.3.94Mechanical Engineering
Alan Bartelli, BSUJr.3.44Biology
Chris Drouin, ASUJr.3.36Justice Studies
Adam Hall, BSUJr.3.43Health Studies
Tyler Iwamura, CSUBR-Fr.3.54Physical Education & Kinesiology
Jake Johnson, STANSr.3.44Management Science & Engineering
Rory McBryde, UCDSo.3.71Philosophy
Elijah Nacita, CSUJr.3.28Business Administration
Riley Orozco, CSUJr.3.06Criminal Justice
Tyler Parker, STANR-Sr.3.76Management Science & Engineering


Joey Granata, CSUBJr.3.03History
Kyler Hasson, STANR-Fr.3.26Undeclared
Michael Hawkins, ASUR-Fr.3.19Exploratory
Mike Kent, STANR-Fr.3.26Undeclared
Kelly Kubec, OSUSo.3.03Business
Mike Larson, CSUBR-Fr.3.02Physical Education & Kinesiology
Eric Maldonado, CPSr.3.04Business
Kirk Smith, BSUJr.3.01Exercise Science
Michael Swigart, ASUSo.3.13Landscape Architecture
Vicente Varela, ASUSo.3.08Justice Studies