Aggies Head to Oklahoma for NCAA Central Regional

Demi Runas will be playing in her fourth NCAA Regional

April 29, 2013

Official NCAA Release

DAVIS, Calif. - The four-time defending Big West champion UC Davis women's golf team has been seeded sixth in the central region and will open NCAA Championship play on May 9-11 at the University of Oklahoma, it was announced Monday evening.

The Aggies are in the NCAA Regional for the fifth time in six seasons at the Div. I level but are being sent out of the west region for the first time. UC Davis will play at the Jimmie Austin OU Golf Course in Norman, Okla., in the 54-hole tournament.

Seventy-two teams and 18 individuals were selected for regional competition at three sites. The east regional will take place the Auburn University Club in Auburn, Ala., while Stanford will host the west regional at its own Stanford Golf Course.

Eight teams and two individuals from each regional will move on to the national finals which are scheduled for May 21-24 at the University of Georgia Golf Course in Athens, Ga.

"We are very excited to be competing in the Central Regional," said first-year coach Anna Temple. "OU has a fantastic golf course and we are really looking forward to competing in such a great field."

The Aggies, who debuted in the postseason during their first year of eligibility in 2008, have advanced beyond the regional in that inaugural season and also in 2011. They finished 12th at last year's west regional at the University of Colorado.

Third-ranked Duke is the top-seeded team in the central regional and is followed by fourth-ranked Oklahoma, No. 9 Florida, No. 10 Washington and 14th-ranked Arizona State in the next four seeds. UC Davis is ranked 17th.

Alabama is the top seed in the east while USC will be top-seeded in the west.

The Aggies earned their fourth consecutive trip to the regional with a dominating performance at the Big West Championships last week at San Luis Obispo Country Club. Led by medalist Demi Runas, UC Davis claimed the top four individual spots while winning the league title by an impressive 29 strokes.



Runas and fellow senior Amy Simanton will be making their fourth NCAA appearance next week. UC Davis has been represented at each NCAA regional since turning Div. I with Alice Kim and Chelsea Stelzmiller earning individual nods in 2009.

The Aggies are the only Big West team this season to be selected for the NCAA Championships although Luciane Lee and Michelle Park of UC Irvine were picked as two of six individuals for the west regional at Stanford.

May 9-11
Norman, Okla. (hosted by University of Oklahoma)

PARTICIPATING TEAMS (listed in seed order)
1. Duke (Atlantic Coast Conference)
2. Oklahoma
3. Florida
4. Washington
5. Arizona State
7. Texas Tech
8. North Carolina State
9. Michigan State
10. Iowa State
11. Southern Methodist
12. Campbell
13. Coastal Carolina (Big South Conference)
14. Wake Forest
15. TCU
16. Gonzaga
17. Indiana
18. UTSA
19. Mississippi State
20. Wisconsin
21. Lamar (Southland Conference)
22. Illinois State (Missouri Valley Conference)
23. Detroit (Horizon League)
24. Butler (Metro Athletic Athletic Conference)

1. Fanny Cnops (UNC-Greensboro)
2. Lori Beth Adams (UNC-Wilmington)
3. Emma Henrickson (San Diego State)
4. Julia Roth (Central Arkansas)
5. Paige Spiranic (San Diego State)
6. Christine Wong (San Diego State)